Derry City were celebrating on the double at last night's Professional Footballers Association of Ireland (PFAI) presentations after Mark Farren and Pat McCourt scooped the eircom League Premier Division and Young Player of the Year awards respectively.

Both players were presented with the awards by former Irish captain Kenny Cunninghan, who also handed Cobh Ramblers striker Kieran O'Reilly the First Division Player of the Year award.

Top whistle blower Alan Kelly was chosen for the inaugural referee of the year, while Galway United stalwart Tony Mannion received a special merit award at the glittering ceremony at Dublin's Burlington Hotel.

The Premier Division and First Division Teams of the Season as chosen by managers were also announced at last night's ceremony.

Predictably the Premier side had six players from champions Cork City selected, while Sligo Rovers, who were promoted as champions, had five players on the First Division Team of the Year.

Premier Division Player of the Year: Mark Farren (Derry City)

Young Player of the Year: Pat McCourt (Derry City)

First Division Player of the Year: Kieran O'Reilly (Cobh Ramblers)

Referee of the Year: Alan Kelly

Special Merit Award: Tony Mannion

Premier Team of the Season:
Michael Devine (Cork City), Owen Heary (Shelbourne), Peter Hutton (Derry City), Dan Murray (Cork City), Danny Murphy (Cork City), Joe Gamble (Cork City), George O'Callaghan (Cork City), Pat McCourt (Derry City), Liam Kearney (Cork City), Jason Byrne (Shelbourne), Mark Farren (Derry City).

First Division Team of the Season:
John O'Hara (Sligo Rovers), Ger O'Brien (Kildare County), Michael McNamara (Sligo Rovers), Aidan Price (Kilkenny), Kupono Low (Sligo Rovers), Robbie Collins (Dublin City), Tommy Barrett (Limerick FC), Fahrudin Kuduzovic (Sligo Rovers), Conor O'Grady (Sligo Rovers), Kieran O'Reilly (Cobh Ramblers), Ger McCarthy (Dundalk).