Blackburn winger Damien Duff was named as Ireland's Senior Player of the Year at the eircom/FAI International Awards at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin last night. The Dubliner, who started 11 games for the Republic last year, was picked ahead of Shay Given and Robbie Keane.

Millwall midfielder Steven Reid received the Young Player's award ahead of Clinton Morrison of Birmingham City and Celtic's Colin Healy. Bohemians skipper Kevin Hunt, who scored the equaliser in Bohemians' 1-1 draw with Shamrock Rovers on Sunday, took the eircom League player award.

At Under-21 level, West Brom goalkeeper Joe Murphy took the honours, while Sunderland's Sean Thornton took the Under-19 award. The Under-17 award went to Manchester City's William Flood.


Senior: Damien Duff (Blackburn Rovers) Under-23/Young: Steven Reid (Millwall) Under-21: Joe Murphy (West Brom) Under-19: Sean Thornton (Sunderland) Under-17: Willo Flood (Manchester City) Under-16: Steven Foley-Sheridan (Aston Villa) Eircom League: Kevin Hunt (Bohemians) Junior: Pat Holden (Evergreen) Intermediate: Graham Dunning (Bluebell United) Schools: Vincent Tyrell (St Declan's/Bohemians) Ladies: Yvonne Treacy (Arsenal) Ladies Under-18: Selina Moylan (Lifford FC) Football For All: Finbar O'Riordan (Cerebral Palsy Sport) Special Merit: Des Casey Hall of Fame: Liam Tuohy International Personality: Michel Platini

Filed by Sinéad Kissane