Mick McCarthy has won the RTÉ/Hibernian Sports Personality of the Year award. The Republic of Ireland manager was rewarded for his team's remarkable World Cup qualification exploits.

Trainer Aidan O'Brien won the National Sports Award, the team of the year went to Galway's footballers and golfer Christy O'Connor Junior took the Hall of Fame prize.

Filed by Greg McKevitt