Russia coach Fabio Capello has confirmed his 23-man squad for the World Cup, with Denis Cheryshev and Pavel Mogilevets the players to miss out.

Capello had already whittled down his provisional list to 25 players last month and the former England, Real Madrid and AC Milan boss has now confirmed his final group for Brazil.

Forward Cheryshev, who was on loan at Sevilla from Real Madrid last season, was the only non-Russia-based player in contention but he has missed the cut along with Mogilevets, who is on loan at Rubin Kazan from Zenit St Petersburg.

Russia are in Group H at the World Cup alongside Belgium, Algeria and South Korea, who they open their campaign against on 17 June.

Squad: Igor Akinfeev (CSKA Moscow), Yury Lodygin (Zenit St Petersburg), Sergey Ryzhikov (Rubin Kazan); Vasiliy Berezutskiy, Sergey Ignashevich, Georgiy Schennikov (all CSKA Moscow), Vladimir Granat, Alexey Kozlov (both Dynamo Moscow), Andrey Eschenko (Anzhi Makhachkala), Dmitry Kombarov (Spartak Moscow), Andrey Semenov (Terek Grozny); Igor Denisov (Dynamo Moscow), Alan Dzagoev (CSKA Moscow), Roman Shirokov (Krasnodar), Denis Glushakov (Spartak Moscow), Viktor Faizulin, Oleg Shatov (both Zenit St Petersburg); Yury Zhirkov, Alexey Ionov, Alexander Kokorin (all Dynamo Moscow), Alexander Kerzhakov (Zenit St Petersburg), Maxim Kanunnikov (Amkar Perm), Alexander Samedov (Lokomotiv Moscow).