Ken Doherty fell at the second hurdle in the Betway UK Championship, losing 6-2 to Australian Neil Robertson in York.

The Dubliner had edged out Gary Wilson 6-3 in the first round but Robertson had too much in the battle of the former world champions.

Defending champion Mark Selby crashed out following a shock 6-3 defeat to Scott Donaldson.

The result is even more remarkable considering Donaldson had won just one match this season before the match, a 6-2 victory over John Astley in the first round in York, but the Scot held his nerve to claim the biggest victory of his career.

Selby took the opening frame courtesy of a 68 break and extended his advantage before the 23-year-old halved the deficit with a wonderful run of 88.

Donaldson won the next two to nudge ahead for the first time in the match before Selby levelled following another half-century run.

The Scot maintained his composure and rattle off the last three frames to earn the shock win after compiling breaks of 90 and 77 to advance to the third round of the competition for just the second time in his career.

Mark Williams, who contemplated withdrawing from the competition after wife Jo was hospitalised, overcame Andrew Higginson. 

Northern Ireland's Mark Allen was a 6-4 victor against Oliver Lines and Ryan Day progressed to the third round with a 6-3 success over Thepchaiya Un-Nooh, while there were also wins for Mark Joyce and Lyu Haotian

Judd Trump continued his flawless start to this year's tournament with a 6-0 thumping of Chris Wakelin.

The 2011 champion breezed past Matthew Bolton in the first round and he was at his ruthless best once again as he laid down a marker for the rest of competition.

The 28-year-old racked up two half-century breaks in the contest as he limited Wakelin to a highest run of just 38.

Marco Fu advanced to the third round with a rollercoaster 6-4 win against Zhao Xintong.

World number seven Fu never trailed in the match and began with a break of 86 in the opening frame before registering three more half-century runs en route to victory, despite Zhao remaining in touch throughout.

Stephen Maguire, the 2004 champion, eased to a 6-0 success against Jamie Jones, while Joe Perry defeated Jack Lisowski 6-3 win and Liang Wenbo secured a 6-1 success against Mitchell Mann.

Jimmy White, the 1992 winner, fell in the second round after suffering a 6-2 defeat at the hands of Kurt Maflin, while Peter Lines was a 6-2 victor against Xu Si and Graeme Dott won a final-frame shootout with Dominic Dale.