Mark Allen reached the third round of the UK Championship after inflicting a 6-2 defeat on Michael Georgiou in York.

Allen, who lost the final to Judd Trump in 2011, hit 102 in the seventh frame to take control and then wrapped up a comfortable win in the next.

World number one Mark Selby whitewashed Oliver Lines, with the 2012 winner making an early mark with a break of 133 in the first frame.

The Leicester cueman had the chance for a maximum break in the last frame but, having reached 97, missed a simple 13th black.

"I just took my eye off it," Selby told

"I made a maximum here two years ago so I had that in my mind and perhaps I got ahead of myself."

That 147 en route to the 2013 Barbican final was the 100th in competitive snooker history.

Trump beat Stuart Carrington after surviving a scare. Having raced into a 2-0 lead, he was pulled back by Carrington to 2-2, yet a break of 101 in the sixth frame helped Trump restore his two-frame lead.

Carrington pulled a frame back in the eighth but Trump wrapped up a 6-3 victory with a break of 52.

Ali Carter beat Daniel Wells 6-3 after a break of 95 in frame eight handed him the chance to see the game out in the next.

Dubliner Fergal O’Brien battled back from a 3-1 deficit against Thepchaiya Un-Nooh to edge into a 5-4 lead, but his Thai opponent won the next two frames to claim a 6-5 victory.

Former winner Neil Robertson stepped up his challenge with a 6-2 win over Aditya Meyta.

The Australian fought back strongly after losing the first frame to his Indian opponent.

A 120 clearance sealed victory for Robertson, who faces a third-round match against Un-Nooh.

There was a surprise for world number eight Barry Hawkins who was beaten 6-2 by Finland's Robin Hull.

Hawkins took the first frame but then dropped four in a row to leave Hull firmly in control. A brief comeback from Hawkins foiled as Hull moved through to round three.

There were no such problems for 2004 winner Stephen Maguire, who scored three half-centuries as he whitewashed Jamie Cope 6-0.

Elsewhere, Matthew Stevens' conqueror Chris Wakelin lost 6-2 to Michael Holt, Dechawat Poomjaeng overcame Ryan Day by the same score and Matthew Selt won 6-4 against Sean O'Sullivan.