Elliot Daly, Dan Cole, Max Malins and Ben Curry were included in England coach Steve Borthwick's Six Nations squad on Monday having been dropped by Eddie Jones but there was no place for wingers Jonny May and Jack Nowell or No 8 Billy Vunipola.

Veteran prop Cole's last match was the World Cup final defeat by South Africa in 2019 but his set-piece form at Leicester, where Borthwick coached until replacing Jones at England last month, has earned the 35-year-old a recall.

One of the new faces in the squad is George McGuigan, who played for the Irish under-18 and U20 squads previously before joining the England Saxons.

Flanker Ben Earl and back Joe Marchant were also recalled into the 36-man squad having been rejected by Jones, who was named earlier on Monday as the new Australia coach.

As well as McGuigan, there is a first call up for Northampton Saints fly-half Fin Smith, alongside three other uncapped players - Ollie Hassell-Collins, Cadan Murley and Jack Walker.

Courtney Lawes returns following injury but Borthwick is yet to name a captain, with Owen Farrell taking over the duties from Lawes in the November internationals.

George McGuigan playing for the Ireland U20s in 2013

"This is an exciting squad, with a blend of Six Nations experience and young talent, and includes players who are in excellent form in the Premiership," Borthwick said.

"I know the players can't wait to get back to Twickenham and give our fans a performance they can be proud of. The hard work for the Scotland game starts now."

England begin their campaign at home to Scotland on 4 February, before hosting Italy a week later. They will then travel to Cardiff to take on Wales, host France and finish off away to Ireland on 18 March.

England squad


Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers, 5 caps)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 95 caps)

Ben Curry (Sale Sharks,1 cap)

Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 9 caps)

Ben Earl (Saracens, 13 caps)

Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears, 43 caps)

Jamie George (Saracens, 72 caps)

Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, 7 caps)

Jonny Hill (Sale Sharks, 19 caps)

Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, 8 caps)

Maro Itoje (Saracens, 62 caps)

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 96 caps)

Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 14 caps)

George McGuigan (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped)

Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)

Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 18 caps)

Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 56 caps)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 74 caps)

Jack Walker (Harlequins, uncapped)

Jack Willis (Toulouse, 6 caps)


Elliot Daly (Saracens, 57 caps)

Owen Farrell (Saracens, 101 caps)

Tommy Freeman (Northampton Saints, 3 caps)

Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish, uncapped)

Dan Kelly (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)

Max Malins (Saracens, 14 caps)

Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 13 caps)

Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)

Cadan Murley (Harlequins, uncapped)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 52 caps)

Fin Smith (Northampton Saints, uncapped)

Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 17 caps)

Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 17 caps)

Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 50 caps)

Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers, 7 caps)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 121 caps)