Connacht's Mack Hansen will make his Ireland debut this Saturday, after being picked in the starting XV for the Guinness Six Nations opener against Wales (live on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player).

Just seven months after moving to Ireland from his native Australia, the winger makes the step up to Test rugby after impressing head coach Andy Farrell on the recent camp in Portugal.

Hansen, who qualifies for Ireland through his Cork-born mother, has scored six tries in nine games for Connacht since joining from the Brumbies, seeing him take the vacant 11 jersey left by the injured James Lowe, and getting the nod over Keith Earls, Robert Baloucoune and Jordan Larmour to start on the left wing.

He joins Munster's Andrew Conway and the ever-present Hugo Keenan in the back three, with Keenan one of 11 Leinster players in the first XV, along with two each from Munster and Connacht, with no Ulster representative in the starting side.

The only other surprising call comes in the centre, where Bundee Aki is preferred over Robbie Henshaw to partner Garry Ringrose, with Henshaw not included in the matchday 23. Ulster's in-form centre James Hume is instead chosen as cover.

Leinster pair Jamison Gibson-Park and captain Johnny Sexton continue in the half-backs, with Conor Murray set for his 93rd Irish cap off the bench, along with Munster teammate Joey Carbery.

Iain Henderson misses out altogether, with the Ulster captain having played just once since the win against the All Blacks due to consecutive hamstring and ankle injuries.

Tadhg Beirne partners James Ryan at lock, while Ryan Baird is among the replacements.

There are no surprises in the front row, with Andrew Porter, Ronan Kelleher and Tadhg Furlong almost automatic selections based on their Autumn Nations Series form.

And the back row is equally settled, with Jack Conan packing down between flankers Caelan Doris and Josh van der Flier.

Ireland: Hugo Keenan; Andrew Conway, Garry Ringrose, Bundee Aki, Mack Hansen; Johnny Sexton (capt), Jamison Gibson Park; Andrew Porter, Ronan Kelleher, Tadhg Furlong; Tadhg Beirne, James Ryan; Caelan Doris, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan

Replacements: Dan Sheehan, Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, Ryan Baird, Peter O'Mahony, Conor Murray, Joey Carbery, James Hume.

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple Podcasts, Soundcloud, Spotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

We need your consent to load this comcast-player contentWe use comcast-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Follow all of Ireland's Six Nations games via our live blogs on and on the RTÉ News App or listen to live radio coverage on RTÉ Radio 1. Watch live TV coverage of Ireland v Wales (5 February, 2.15pm) and England v Ireland (12 March, 4.45pm) on RTÉ2 and the RTÉ Player.