Five Irish players have made the long list for the 2022 EPCR European Player of the Year.

Leinster trio Caelan Doris, Jimmy O'Brien and Josh van der Flier are joined by Ulster's Michael Lowry and Jack O'Donoghue of Munster.

Toulouse's Antoine Dupont, who is the current holder of the European Player of the Year and World Rugby Player of the Year awards, is again in the running.

Rob Kearney is the last Irishman to win the the award, which is in its 12th season. He took the trophy back in 2012.

This year's list will be reduced to five players - following the Heineken Champions Cup and EPCR Challenge Cup semi-finals in May - by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judging panel.

Players who have not been included in the initial long list, but who make a significant impact during the knockout stages, may be considered for the shortlist.

2022 EPCR European Player of the Year nominees
Gregory Alldritt (La Rochelle)
Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins)
Caelan Doris (Leinster)
Antoine Dupont (Toulouse)
Gael Fickou (Racing 92)
George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
Michael Lowry (Ulster)
Jimmy O'Brien (Leinster)
Jack O'Donoghue (Munster)
Damian Penaud (Clermont Auvergne)
Semi Radradra (Bristol Bears)
Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
Marcus Smith (Harlequins)
Josh Van der Flier (Leinster)
Cameron Woki (Bordeaux)