Tadhg Furlong has been named on World Rugby's Men's 'Dream Team of the Year'.

The tighthead is the only Irish player to be selected after a powerhouse 2021 in which he shone for Leinster, Ireland and the Lions.

The team is selected by the World Rugby Awards panel, which includes ex-Ireland internationals Brian O'Driscoll and Fiona Coghlan.

Maggie Alphonsi, Thierry Dusautoir, George Gregan, Richie McCaw, Melodie Robinson, John Smit and Clive Woodward complete the panel.

Players from seven nations - Australia, England, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Scotland and South Africa - have been selected with all four of the Men's 15s Player of the Year nominees included: Michael Hooper [Australia], Samu Kerevi [Australia], Antoine Dupont [France] and Maro Itoje [England].

The world champion Springboks boast the most representatives with five, followed by New Zealand with three.

In the Women's Dream Team the Six Nations is heavily represented, with Canada, Italy, New Zealand and Wales each providing one player in a selection dominated by England and France.

Les Bleus provide six players, one more than England with all four Women’s 15s Player of the Year nominees making the cut: Zoe Aldcroft (England), Caroline Boujard (France), Poppy Cleall (England) and Laure Sansus (France).

World Rugby Men's Dream Team of the Year

15 Stuart Hogg (Scotland); 14 Will Jordan (New Zealand), 13 Lukhanyo Am (South Africa), 12 Samu Kerevi (Australia), 11 Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa); 10 Beauden Barrett (New Zealand), 9 Antoine Dupont (France); 1 Wyn Jones (Wales), 2 Malcolm Marx (South Africa), 3 Tadhg Furlong (Ireland); 4 Maro Itoje (England), 5 Eben Etzebeth (South Africa); 6 Siya Kolisi (South Africa), 7 Michael Hooper (Australia), 8 Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

World Rugby Women's Dream Team of the Year

15 Jasmine Joyce (Wales); 14 Caroline Boujard (France), 13 Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand), 12 Beatrice Rigoni (Italy), 11 Abby Dow (England); 10 Caroline Drouin (France), 9 Laure Sansus (France); 1 Annaelle Deshayes (France), 2 Agathe Sochat (France), 3 Sarah Bern (England); 4 Safi N'Diaye (France), 5 Abbie Ward (England); 6 Zoe Aldcroft (England), 7 Karen Paquin (Canada), 8 Poppy Cleall (England)

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple Podcasts, Soundcloud, Spotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Follow Leinster v Bath (Saturday 3.15pm), Connacht v Stade Francais (Sunday 1pm) and Wasps v Munster (Sunday 3.15pm) via our live blogs on RTÉ.ie/sport and the RTÉ News app or listen to Leinster v Bath and Connacht v Stade Francais on RTÉ Radio 1 and RTÉ Radio 1 Extra.