Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has named a 42-man squad for the Autumn Nations Series Tests against Tonga, Australia and South Africa.

Included in the group are Scotland's full complement of British and Irish Lions involved in this summer's South Africa tour, including captain Stuart Hogg, wing Duhan Van Der Merwe, plus half-backs Finn Russell and Ali Price.

Townsend has also selected 12 uncapped players, with that contingent featuring the likes of Ewan Ashman, Josh Bayliss, Dylan Richardson and Pierre Schoeman.

Scotland conclude their autumn fixtures against Japan on 20 November, with Tonga being the opening game in 10 days' time.

Other newcomers include Rory Darge, Luke Crosbie and a quartet of uncapped Glasgow backs in Rufus McLean, Jamie Dobie, Ross Thompson and Sione Tuipulotu.

Townsend said: "There have been some notable performances from both our home-based players and those at clubs outside of Scotland, which has enabled us as coaches to select a group which are playing well and will be motivated across the four games."

Scotland's 42-man squad for the Autumn Nations Series Tests against Tonga, Australia, South Africa and Japan:

Backs: M Bennett (Edinburgh), D Graham (Edinburgh), J Dobie (Glasgow Warriors), C Harris (Gloucester), A Hastings (Gloucester), S Hogg (Exeter), G Horne (Glasgow Warriors), D Hoyland (Edinburgh), S Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), H Jones (Harlequins), B Kinghorn (Edinburgh), D Van Der Merwe (Worcester), R McLean (Glasgow Warriors), A Price (Glasgow Warriors), F Russell (Racing 92), M Scott (Leicester), K Steyn (Glasgow Warriors), R Thompson (Glasgow Warriors), S Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors).

Forwards: E Ashman (Sale Sharks), J Bayliss (Bath), J Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), F Brown (Glasgow Warriors), L Crosbie (Edinburgh), R Darge (Glasgow Warriors), M Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Z Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), G Gilchrist (Edinburgh), N Haining (Edinburgh), R Harley (Glasgow Warriors), J Hodgson (Edinburgh), O Kebble (Glasgow Warriors), M McCallum (Glasgow Warriors), S McInally (Edinburgh), D Richardson (Cell C Sharks), J Ritchie (Edinburgh), S Skinner (Exeter), P Schoeman (Edinburgh), R Sutherland (Worcester), M Sykes (Edinburgh), G Turner (Glasgow Warriors), H Watson (Edinburgh).

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple Podcasts, Soundcloud, Spotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Follow Connacht v Ulster (Saturday 5.15pm) and Ospreys v Munster (Saturday 7.35pm) via our live blogs on and the RTÉ News app. Watch Ospreys v Munster live on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player.