South Africa-born loose forward Dylan Richardson has been included in a 36-man Scotland squad for next week's two-day training camp ahead of the autumn Tests.

With players based in England and France unable to be called up for this gathering, head coach Gregor Townsend's group is made up almost exclusively of Edinburgh and Glasgow players, with the sole exception of 22-year-old Sharks player Richardson, who qualifies through his Edinburgh-born father.

The training squad will convene at Oriam on Sunday and Monday before Townsend finalises his squad next Wednesday for the autumn series, which begins against Tonga at Murrayfield on Saturday, October 30.

Among the uncapped players in the provisional group are Glasgow’s Rory Darge, Rufus McLean, Craig Forbes, Sione Tuipulotu, Ross Thompson and Jamie Dobie, as well as Edinburgh’s Luke Crosbie, Pierre Schoeman, Marshall Sykes, Jamie Hodgson, Matt Currie, Jack Blain and Charlie Savala.

British and Irish Lions trio Ali Price, Hamish Watson (below) and Zander Fagerson are all added to the group.

Townsend told Scottish Rugby: "With four tough Test matches ahead of us in this year’s Autumn Nations Series it is important we bring players together early, connect with them as coaches and enable them to grow as a group before the campaign gets under way against Tonga at BT Murrayfield.

"We are pleased with the depth we are able to call upon to make up this training squad and it provides a genuine opportunity for players to put their hand up for selection to the full Autumn Nations Series squad."

Edinburgh scrum-half Ben Vellacott, who has made an excellent start to the season, is one of the most notable omissions from the group.

After Tonga, Scotland host Australia, South Africa and Japan in November.

Scotland squad for Autumn Nations Series

Forwards: Jamie Bhatti, Fraser Brown, Luke Crosbie, Rory Darge, Matt Fagerson, Zander Fagerson, Grant Gilchrist, Nick Haining, Rob Harley, Jamie Hodgson, Oli Kebble, Murray McCallum, Stuart McInally, Dylan Richardson, Jamie Ritchie, Pierre Schoeman, Marshall Sykes, George Turner.

Backs: Mark Bennett, Jack Blain, Matt Currie, Jamie Dobie, Cole Forbes, Darcy Graham, George Horne, Damien Hoyland, Sam Johnson, Blair Kinghorn, James Lang, Rufus McLean, Ali Price, Charlie Savala, Kyle Steyn, Ross Thompson, Sione Tuipulotu.

Uncapped Exeter forward Christ Tshiunza (above) has won a surprise Wales call-up for the Autumn Nations Series.

The 19-year-old back-row forward was born in DR Congo but moved to Wales in 2010.

Elsewhere, Gareth Anscombe and Ellis Jenkins have both been named by Wales head coach Wayne Pivac in a 38-man squad following long absences from international rugby.

Ospreys fly-half Anscombe has not played for Wales since suffering a knee injury in August 2019, and it is almost three years since Cardiff flanker Jenkins last featured, having also been sidelined by knee problems.

The comeback theme, meanwhile, is continued by ex-Bath playmaker and current Cardiff fly-half Rhys Priestland, whose 50th and most recent Wales outing was against New Zealand in 2017.

The squad also includes Wasps flanker Thomas Young, who will move to Cardiff for next season.

The 29-year-old, capped three times, has been ineligible for Wales in recent seasons due to a senior player selection policy that means players plying their trade outside of Wales cannot be selected if they have won fewer than 60 caps.

But it is understood he has received dispensation to be available for Wales immediately following confirmation of his move to Cardiff for next term.

Pivac is without a number of injured players, with the likes of Leigh Halfpenny, George North, Justin Tipuric and Josh Navidi all absent.

Wales take on Zealand on 30 October, a game which falls outside World Rugby’s international window, meaning means Gallagher Premiership-based players will not be released for that fixture, ruling out Tshiunza, Young, Louis Rees-Zammit, Nick Tompkins, Dan Biggar, Callum Sheedy and Taulupe Faletau.

Wales then face South Africa, Fiji and Australia on consecutive weeks in November.

Wales squad for Autumn Nations Series

Forwards: Wyn Jones, Rhodri Jones, Rhys Carre, Ken Owens, Elliot Dee, Ryan Elias, Dillon Lewis, WillGriff John, Tomas Francis, Alun Wyn Jones Adam Beard, Will Rowlands, Ben Carter, Seb Davies, Christ Tshiunza, Ross Moriarty, Thomas Young, Taine Basham, Ellis Jenkins, Aaron Wainwright, Taulupe Faletau.

Backs: Tomos Williams, Gareth Davies, Kieran Hardy, Gareth Anscombe, Rhys Priestland, Dan Biggar, Callum Sheedy, Johnny Williams, Jonathan Davies, Nick Tompkins, Willis Halaholo, Ben Thomas, Josh Adams, Owen Lane, Louis Rees-Zammit, Johnny McNicholl, Liam Williams

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple Podcasts, Soundcloud, Spotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Follow Munster v Connacht (Saturday 7.35pm) via our live blog on RTÉ.ie/sport or the RTÉ News app, or watch live on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player. Watch Ulster v Lions (Friday 7.35pm) on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player.