Ireland's director of rugby Anthony Eddy has named an experimental squad as the national side return to action in the HSBC World Sevens Series this week in Canada.

Eddy has named a squad of 13 players for this weekend's tournament in Vancouver, with just three members of Ireland's Tokyo Olympic squad included in the group.

Bryan Mollen will captain the side, while fellow Olympians Gavin Mullin and Mark Roche are also included for the two events in British Columbia, the first tournaments in the World Series since the start of the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020.

Despite being carted off with an apparent neck injury in Leinster's 40-21 pre-season win against Harlequins on Friday, Chris Cosgrave has been included in the squad for this weekend in Vancouver, as has his Ireland U20 team-mate Shane Jennings.

Liam Turner scored a try in Leinster's 40-21 pre-season win against Harlequins last Friday

The rest Eddy's squad have minor sevens experience, with the director looking to explore the depth of Ireland's sevens programme at the start of the new Olympic cycle. Liam Turner and Sean Cribbin have both been involved in previous squads.

Ulster Academy winger Ben Moxham, Conor Phillips of Munster and Ed Kelly – the younger brother of Olympian Jack – have been part of the national sevens programme for the last 12 months and featured during the IRFU HPC International 7s tournament in June.

Eddy says he's keen to widen the pool of players available for Ireland in this Olympic cycle.

"It is great to have the HSBC World Series back up and running and expose some new players to the quality of this competition," he said.

"The Canada tournaments provide a great opportunity for some players to put their hand up for future tournaments and the 2022 Series. We have a some experience in the group and also players new to the World Series, so I am keen to see how some of the new players perform in this environment," he added.

The tournament in Vancouver will be followed by an event in Edmonton the following week, with the two weekends comprising the full 2021 World Rugby Sevens Series.

Ireland Men's Sevens Squad

Niall Comerford (UCD RFC/Leinster), Chris Cosgrave (UCD RFC/Leinster), Seán Cribbin (Suttonians), Shane Jennings (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht), Sean Kearns (Irish Sevens), Ed Kelly (Dublin University), Steven Kilgallen (UCD RFC), Bryan Mollen (Blackrock College)(Captain), Ben Moxham (Ballymena/Ulster), Gavin Mullin (UCD RFC), Conor Phillips (Young Munster/Munster), Mark Roche (Lansdowne), Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster)

Ireland Fixtures:

Saturday, 18th September:

Pool B:

Ireland v Hong Kong (9.44am local time/5.44pm Irish time)

Ireland v Jamaica (12.55pm local time/8.55pm Irish time)

Great Britain v Ireland (4.28pm local time/12.28am Irish time)

Sunday, 19th September:

Play-off Matches.