Joey Carbery will make his first Ireland appearance since the 2019 World Cup after being named to start against Japan at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday.

The Munster out-half has had a nightmare two years as he's struggled with ankle and wrist injuries but Andy Farrell has brought him back into the fold for the Test in Dublin.

James Ryan will captain the side having overcome an abductor injury that had cast doubt over his inclusion. He'll be partnered in the second row by Ultan Dillane.

Peter O’Mahony starts on the blindside flank and is joined in the back row by Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris, who makes his international return after missing the Six Nations.

Dave Kilcoyne, Ronan Kelleher and Finlay Bealham make up the front row.

At half-back Jamison Gibson Park partners Carbery while Stuart McCloskey and Chris Farrell are paired in midfield with Jacob Stockdale and Jordan Larmour on the wings. Hugo Keenan slots in at full-back.

Munster's uncapped flanker Gavin Coombes is among the replacements.

Ireland (v Japan): Hugo Keenan; Jordan Larmour, Chris Farrell, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale; Joey Carbery, Jamison Gibson Park; Dave Kilcoyne, Ronan Kelleher, Finlay Bealham; Ultan Dillane, James Ryan (capt); Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier, Caelan Doris

Replacements: Rob Herring, Ed Byrne, John Ryan, Ryan Baird, Gavin Coombes, Craig Casey, Billy Burns, Shane Daly

Japan: Kotaro Matsushima; Semisi Masirewa, Timothy Lafaele, Ryoto Nakamura, Siosaia Fifita; Yu Tamura, Naoto Saito; Keita Inagaki, Atsushi Sakate, Jiwon Koo; Wimpie van der Walt, James Moore; Michael Leitch (capt), Lappies Labuschagné, Kazuki Himeno

Replacements: Kosuke Horikoshi, Craig Millar, Asaeli Ai Valu, Jack Cornelson, Tevita Tatafu, Kaito Shigeno, Rikiya Matsuda, Shane Gates.

Follow Ireland v Japan (1pm, Saturday) via our live blog on and the RTÉ News app or watch live on RTÉ1 or RTÉ Player, listen live on RTÉ Radio 1 Extra and RTÉ Radio 1