Munster back row Alex Kendellen has been named as captain of a 34-man Ireland for Under-20 Six Nations Championship in Cardiff, one of just four players from the province in the group.

Alex Soroka and Tim Corkery, who both recently made their senior Leinster debuts, are two of six players involved at this age-grade for a second season, alongside Ulster duo Conor McKee and Ben Moxham, Connacht's Cathal Forde and Ben Murphy of Leinster.

Ireland's opening fixture is against Scotland at Cardiff Arms Park on Saturday 19 June.

Kendellen aims to lead by example

There are 12 Leinster, 10 Ulster, six Connacht and four from Munster in the squad, as well as two England-based players.

Head coach Murphy, who is assisted by Denis Leamy and Colm Tucker, said: "We have been working hard for a number of weeks and it's an exciting time for these young players, who have the honour of representing the wider group in Cardiff.

"It has been a challenging year but the players have come in, worked hard and bonded well, and I have been impressed by their work-rate, commitment and application. Now our focus turns to performance and Saturday's opening game against Scotland, which we know will be a big challenge first up.

"We are looking forward to the opportunities over the coming weeks and are excited by the prospect of an Ireland U20s team returning to Six Nations action."

Ireland squad for 2021 Under-20 Six Nations:


  • George Saunderson (Sullivan Upper School/Queen's University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
  • Jack Boyle (St Michael's College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
  • Temi Asewunmi Lasisi (CBS Enniscorthy/Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
  • Mark Donnelly (CBC Cork/Garryowen RFC/Munster)
  • Eoin de Buitléar (Scoil Chuimsitheach Chiáran/An Ghaeltacht/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
  • Lee Barron (St Michael's College/Dublin University FC/Leinster)
  • Ronan Loughnane (Cistercian College Roscrea/UCD RFC/Leinster)
  • Sam Illo (Wesley College/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
  • Darragh Murray (Colaiste Chiaran/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
  • Harry Sheridan (Sullivan Upper School/Dublin University FC/Ulster)
  • Mark Morrisey (Blackrock College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
  • Alex Soroka (Belvedere College/Clontarf RFC/Leinster)
  • Oisin McCormack (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
  • Alex Kendellen (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)(Captain)
  • Reuben Crothers (Wallace High School/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
  • Donnacha Byrne (Summerhill College/Sligo RFC/Connacht)
  • Jack Kelleher (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)
  • Daniel Okeke (Ard Scoil Ris/Shannon RFC/Munster)
  • Liam Bishop (Trent College/Nottingham University/IQ Rugby)


  • Conor McKee (Sullivan Upper School/Queen's University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
  • Nathan Doak (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
  • Ben Murphy (Presentation College Bray/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
  • Tim Corkery (Kilkenny College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
  • James Humphreys (Dean Close School/Queen's University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
  • Cathal Forde (Colaiste Iognaid/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
  • Ben Carson (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
  • Shane Jennings (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
  • Ben Moxham (Larne High School/Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
  • Conor Rankin (Campbell College Belfast/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
  • Chay Mullins (SGC Filton/Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby)
  • Josh O'Connor (St Peter's College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
  • Jamie Osborne (Naas CBS/Naas RFC/Leinster)
  • Chris Cosgrave (St Michael's College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
  • Jude Postlethwaite (RBAI/Banbridge RFC/Ulster).

Fixtures, all games at Cardiff Arms Park

  • Scotland v Ireland, Saturday 19 June, 2pm
  • Wales v Ireland, Friday 25 June, 8pm
  • Ireland v England, Thursday 1 July, 8pm
  • Italy v Ireland, Wednesday 7 July, 2pm
  • Ireland v France, Tuesday 13 July, 4.45pm.