Ireland began their Six Nations campaign with a 45-0 destruction of Wales in Cardiff as Beibhin Parsons fanned the flames of the hype that's surrounded her precocious talent with another sparkling display.

First-half tries from Parsons (2), Eimear Considine (2) and Sene Naoupu had Ireland 31-0 up at half-time, the bonus in the bag and the contest over.

Ireland were guilty of some sloppiness in a scrappy second half but Dorothy Wall and then Hannah Tyrrell both plundered tries inside the last 10 minutes to round off a comprehensive win  

Adam Griggs had some concerns his team might be rusty having not played since last October’s win against Italy, but Ireland were absolutely on the money in every facet if their game as they tore into a Welsh side that were beaten 53-0 by France last week.

Considine got the ball rolling after just two minutes as she shimmied inside to cross over, before the electric Parsons scorched down the left wing eight minutes later for a brilliant individual score.

She burrowed over again on 17 minutes, with Considine and then Naoupu burying the home challenge with just 27 minute son the clock.

Wales did dig their heels in on the turnaround and spurned some decent chances to get themselves on the scoreboard but Wall burrowed over in the 72nd minute for Ireland's sixth try and then player of the match Tyrrell sped away right at the end to get herself a score she deserved, nailing the conversion with the final kick of the game. 

Ireland take on France in Donnybrook next weekend as they look to progress to a showdown against Pool A winners England in the championship final of a revamped tournament. 

Wales: R Wilkins (N Terry 41); L Neumann, H Jones, K Lake, C Keight (C Lewis 33); E Snowsill, J Roberts (M Davies 29); C Hope (C Thomas 41), K Jones (M Kelly 40), C Hale (D Rose 41), N John (T W Davies 56), G Crabb, G Evans, M Johnes (B Dainton 56), S Lillicrap. 

Ireland: E Considine (E Breen 63); L Delany (S Flood 54), E Higgins, S Naoupu, B Parsons; H Tyrrell, K Dane (H O'Connor 63); L Peat (K O’Dwyer 59), C Moloney (L Feely 64), L Djougang (N Jones 64), A McDermott, D Wall (B Hogan 59), C Molloy, C Griffin (E Lane 63). 

Referee: H Davidson