Owen Farrell will start England's Guinness Six Nations clash with Scotland at fly-half as part of physical midfield selected for Saturday's Calcutta Cup showdown at Twickenham.

For the first time since the 2019 World Cup quarter-final victory over Australia, George Ford has dropped to the bench, making way for the more muscular trio of Farrell, Ollie Lawrence and Henry Slade.

Ford missed the start of the autumn because of an Achilles injury but having been restored to full fitness, he was picked as chief conductor for the victories over Wales and France.

It will be Lawrence's fourth cap and first Six Nations appearance and the Worcester inside centre will be given the role of midfield battering ram at which he showed promise during the Autumn Nations Cup.

Apart from the adjustment made at fly-half and 12, Jones has retained the same backline that sent France spinning to defeat in sudden death at Twickenham two months ago. 

Meanwhile Former England Under-20 international Cameron Redpath will make his Scotland debut at Twickenham.

The Bath centre pledged his allegiance to Scotland last month and goes straight into Gregor Townsend's team.

Wing Sean Maitland and fit-again fly-half Finn Russell are among those earning recalls while hooker George Turner will make his Six Nations debut.

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple PodcastsSoundcloudSpotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

England team to play Scotland: Elliot Daly,  Anthony Watson, Henry Slade, Ollie Lawrence, Jonny May, Owen Farrell (captain), Ben Young; Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Will Stuart,  Maro Itoje, Jonny Hill, Mark Wilson, Tom Curry, Billy Vunipola 

Scotland team: Stuart Hogg (captain), Sean Maitland, Chris Harris, Cameron Redpath, Duhan van der Merwe, Finn Russell, Ali Price; Rory Sutherland, George Turner, Zander Fagerson, Scott Cummins, Jonny Gray, James Ritchie, Hamish Watson, Matt Fegerson