The 2021 Women's Six Nations Championship will begin in April under a revised format for the Covid-affected campaign.

Starting on the weekend of 3-4 April, this year’s women’s championship will see a condensed format, comprising two pools of three teams, with each team playing one home and one away fixture.

Once the pool round matches are complete, teams will face off against the opposing ranked team from the other pool in the play-offs matches, with first place in Pool A taking on the top-ranked side in Pool B and so on for the second and third spots.

We need your consent to load this Facebook contentWe use Facebook to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Ireland have been placed in Group B alongside France and Wales and will kick off their tournament on the weekend of the 10 April away to Wales.

The following weekend, 17-18 April, Ireland will host France at home.

The tournament will culminate with play-offs on the weekend of the 24-25 April, while the detailed fixture dates, venues and kick-off times will be announced in due course.

Meanwhile the U20s Six Nations will take place across June and July in a condensed three-week period. The tournament is expected to start on 19 June.

2021 Women's Six Nations:

Pool A: England, Italy, Scotland

Pool B: France, Ireland, Wales

Ireland Fixtures:

10-11 April - Wales v Ireland

17-18 April - Ireland v France

24-25 April - Play-Offs.

Fixture dates, venues and kick-off times TBC

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple PodcastsSoundcloudSpotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Follow Wales v Ireland (kick-off 3pm) on Sunday via our live blog on and the News app or listen live on RTÉ Radio 1's Sunday Sport. Highlights on Against the Head, Monday at 8.10pm on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player.