Tadhg Furlong and Rhys Ruddock have been included as Andy Farrell has named his 36-man-squad for Ireland's upcoming 2021 Six Nations campaign, however, Ulster scrum-half John Cooney misses out.

Jonathan Sexton captains the squad for a second Six Nations campaign and there are two uncapped players named in the squad, Munster's Craig Casey and Ulster’s Tom O’Toole.

Scrum-half Casey, who won a Grand Slam with Ireland Under-20s in 2019, trained with the squad last October, while Ulster prop O'Toole was named in the squad at the start of the 2020 Championship but did not feature.

Furlong has not played for almost a year due to back and calf problems but is recalled to the squad.

Ulster captain Henderson has been sidelined since suffering knee ligament damage in the Autumn Nations Cup win over Scotland in early December, while Leinster wing Lowe has recently returned to training following a groin problem. 

The 30-year-old Ruddock, capped 26 times in total, is back in the squad after a year out of the fold. The Leinster back-row's last appearance came as a late substitute in Ireland's heavy loss to New Zealand in the 2019 World Cup quarter-final in Tokyo.

"Since the Autumn international window the club season has had a good few disruptions and the cancellation of the European fixtures means there have been less opportunities for players to show form or to return from injury and get some minutes under their belts," said head coach Andy Farrell.

"Tadhg (Furlong) hasn't played in quite a while but he is ready to join the group. Unfortunately Jacob (Stockdale) will not be available to us."

Stockdale has been ruled out of recent Ulster contention due to an ongoing knee injury.

Casey is one of three scrum halves to be included, alongside Conor Murray and Jamison Gibson-Park with John Cooney, Luke McGrath and Kieran Marmion all missing out. 

Billy Burns and Ross Byrne has been selected as back-up out-halves, with Jack Carty not included.

Ireland's campaign begins away to Wales on Sunday 7 February, with France arriving in Dublin seven days later. 

Ireland squad:

Backs: Bundee Aki (Connacht), Billy Burns (Ulster), Ross Byrne (Leinster), Craig Casey (Munster), Andrew Conway (Munster), Shane Daly (Munster), Keith Earls (Munster), Chris Farrell (Munster), Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Leinster), Hugo Keenan (Leinster), Jordan Larmour (Leinster), James Lowe (Leinster), Stuart McCloskey (Ulster), Conor Murray (Munster), Garry Ringrose (Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster) (captain)

Forwards: Tadhg Beirne (Munster), Will Connors (Leinster), Caelan Doris (Leinster), Ultan Dillane (Connacht), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Dave Heffernan (Connacht), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Rob Herring (Ulster), Ronan Kelleher (Leinster), Dave Kilcoyne (Munster), Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Tom O’Toole (Ulster), Andrew Porter (Leinster), Quinn Roux (Connacht), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster), James Ryan (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), Josh van der Flier (Leinster)