Garry Ringrose has been named as the Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Men's Player of The Year following a stellar season for province and country. 

The 25-year-old centre was one of the brightest sparks during Ireland's Rugby World Cup journey in Japan and brought his form home with him as Leinster went unbeaten in this year's Guinness Pro14. 

Ringrose is currently recovering from a broken jaw but has set his sights on Ireland's opening Six Nations game against Wales on 7 February.

He said: "I know I've to hit a few markers this week to be able to be available but it's just on that edge; unless things go horribly wrong this week, I'd consider myself available. 

"2020 was an extremely challenging year for us all and I am very grateful to the rugby writers of Ireland for selecting me as the winner of this prestigious award at the end of it all. 

"Although, last season was great and I am very proud to be part of the Pro14 winning team with Leinster, I hope that I can kick on in 2021 for both Leinster and Ireland." 

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Meanwhile, Béibhinn Parsons was recognised as the Women’s Player of The Year following her breakthrough season in 2019/2020.

The Ballinasloe winger enjoyed a tremendous season with Ireland, while balancing international rugby with her studies.

Parsons scored three tries during the 2020 Women’s Six Nations. 

"[It's] a real 'pinch me' moment," she said.

"To follow in the footsteps of incredible players like Ciara Griffin, Claire Molloy and Sene Naoupu is just incredible. 

"To even be nominated for an award of this calibre has exceeded all my expectations. I would have never considered myself to be in the same bracket of players with those women." 

Leinster were named as team of the year, while Ballynahinch took the club of the year award.

Former Ireland, Lions, Ulster and Ballymena player Trevor Ringland and Ireland, Leinster and UL Bohemians’ Fiona Coghlan were inducted into the Hall of Fame. 

Former Munster Rugby CEO, Garett Fitzgerald, who passed away in February, has been honoured with the Rugby Writers of Ireland Tom Rooney Award. 

Jordan Conroy and Louise Galvin were adjudged the best of the 7s men's and women's teams respectively. 

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple PodcastsSoundcloudSpotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Follow Munster v Leinster (7.35pm Saturday) and Connacht v Ospreys (3pm Sunday) via our live blogs on RTÉ.ie/sport and the RTÉ News app or listen to live commentary on RTÉ Radio 1.