Ireland head coach Andy Farrell said he's excited to see Billy Burns "run the show" after handing the Ulster out-half his first start for Ireland against Georgia at the Aviva Stadium.

Farrell has made nine changes to his starting 15 for Sunday's Autumn Nations Cup clash, with Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Beirne and Stuart McCloskey all getting the nod. The uncapped Shane Daly is on the bench.

Conor Murray comes in at scrum-half alongside Burns, and Farrell is looking forward to see how they gel.

"We're excited to see Billy," he said. "He gets to run the show for the side for the first time. It’s his opportunity to get a hold of the team and the game."

In the centre McCloskey will partner Chris Farrell, with Jacob Stockdale at full-back and Keith Earls and Hugo Keenan on the wings.

James Ryan captains the hosts and he's joined in the engine room by Iain Henderson. Bealham starts at loosehead, where he went last week at Twickenham after coming off the bench.

Rob Herring is named at hooker and Andrew Porter continues at tighthead.

Beirne meanwhile is selected on the blindside flank, with Will Connors at openside and CJ Stander at No 8.

On Bealham's spin at loosehead, Farrell added: "It's something we've been thinking about for a while. We need to try and build a bit in that area for ourselves. He's been in fine form for us. He’s certainly a guy that’s able to get around the field and bring some physicality to the game."

Farrell also hailed Munster's versatile young talent Daly. 

"Shane, that's the special one isn’t it, to be able to give someone the opportunity hopefully to come off the bench for his debut? 

"It’d be a special moment for him and his family. He deserves it. He has fitted in unbelievably well. He’s a player that can cover many positions of us as well. He’s calm and collected with how he approaches the game We're hoping he can bring that to his debut this weekend."

Farrell also confirmed that James Lowe has a niggling problem with his abductor which will require a scan on Friday, while Andrew Conway misses out due to a hamstring issue.  

Ireland: Jacob Stockdale, Hugo Keenan, Chris Farrell, Stuart McCloskey, Keith Earls, Billy Burns, Conor Murray; Finlay Bealham, Rob Herring, Andrew Porter, Iain Henderson, James Ryan (capt), Tadhg Beirne, Will Connors, CJ Stander

Replacements: Dave Heffernan, Cian Healy, John Ryan, Quinn Roux, Peter O’Mahony, Kieran Marmion,  Ross Byrne, Shane Daly

Follow Ireland v Georgia this Sunday via our live blog on RTÉ.ie/sport and the RTÉ News app, watch live on RTÉ One from 1.40pm, or listen to live updates on RTÉ Radio 1's Sunday Sport.

We need your consent to load this SoundCloud contentWe use SoundCloud to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences