Adam Griggs has been forced into two changes to the Ireland team named this morning to face Italy in Saturday's Guinness Six Nations clash.

Eimear Considine and Laura Feely have been ruled out, with the IRFU describing the switches as "a precaution following inconclusive outcomes of Covid-19 tests on one player and a resultant potential close contact with two other players".

The IRFU reported hours later that the player in question had subsequently tested negative in her most recent test, so self-isolation was no longer required.

The players will return to the squad following the Italy game this weekend. 

Laura Sheehan comes into the back three, with Lauren Delany moving from right wing to full-back in place of Considine.

Leah Lyons replaces Feely among the replacements.

Dorothy Wall will make her first start for the Ireland as they host Italy in the Women's Six Nations Championship at Energia Park on Saturday.

Wall came off the bench in all three games earlier in the competition. Joining her in the back row will be Claire Molloy, who will earn her 70th cap for her country and captain Ciara Griffin.

Lindsay Peat, Cliodhna Moloney and Linda Djougang all start in the front row for the fourth game in succession with Nichola Fryday and Ciara Cooney behind them in the second row.

Hannah Tyrell and Kathryn Dane form the half-back partnership with out-half Tyrell making her first start of the campaign.

Enya Breen and Sene Naoupu are the centres while Béibhinn Parsons, Lauren Delaney and Sheehan all link up in the back three.

Head coach Adam Griggs says the entire squad are aware that they are part of a select group of people permitted to play competitive rugby at the moment.

Griggs said: "We've spoken about it,"

"No one across Irish Rugby in the women's game is actually able to pull on a jersey and play right now and yet here we are already privileged to represent our country and be one of the only teams actually playing in these times.

"It's not lost on us and we want to make sure that we perform really well and give everyone watching something to cheer about come the final whistle."

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

There is potential for Ireland debuts off the bench on Saturday with uncapped forwards Neve Jones, Katie O’Dwyer and Brittany Hogan all earning their place in the match day squad.

Laura Feely and Hannah O’Connor will provide the remaining cover for the pack while Ailsa Hughes, Larissa Muldoon and Katie Fitzhenry will give Coach Griggs further options in the backline.

Fitzhenry along with Hannah Tyrell and Brittany Hogan have also featured for Ireland 7s in the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2020.

Griggs added: "I think the beauty of what we've got now is such a competitive wider squad and some of those selections weren't as straight forward as you think. Some of those players who've missed out can take credit for how hard they've pushed these girls."

Ireland team: Lauren Delany, Laura Sheehan Enya Breen, Sene Naoupu, Béibhinn Parsons; Hannah Tyrrell, Kathryn Dane; Lindsay Peat, Cliodhna Moloney, Linda Djougang, Nichola Fryday, Ciara Cooney, Dorothy Wall, Claire Molloy, Ciara Griffin (captain)

Replacements: Neve Jones, Katie O'Dwyer, Leah Lyons, Brittany Hogan, Hannah O'Connor, Alisa Hughes, Larissa Muldoon, Katie Fitzhenry

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple PodcastsSoundcloudSpotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Follow Ireland v Italy (3.30pm Saturday) with our live blog on RTÉ Sport Online and the RTÉ News app or listen to live commentary on Saturday Sport on RTÉ Radio 1. 

Follow Ireland v Italy in the Women's Six Nations (6.30pm) live on RTÉ2 and on RTÉ Radio 1 Extra.