Danny Cipriani has been called up to attend an England pre-World Cup training camp on Sunday.

Gloucester fly-half Cipriani, who was named Premiership and Rugby Players' Association player of the year last season, has won just two caps in the three years that England coach Eddie Jones has been in charge.

Piers Francis (Northampton Saints), Willi Heinz (Gloucester), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints) and Ollie Thorley (Gloucester) have also been added to the squad, while Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins) and Marcus Smith (Harlequins) will return to their clubs next week.

"Next week we will add some players and be looking to improve our physical conditioning, ability to understand how we want to play the game and start to increase the pressure at training," Jones said.

"We have a couple of players going back to their clubs as we feel it is in their best interests in terms of the World Cup to do that, and we will consider their participation in the squad further down the track." 

Cipriani, 31, remains third in the England pecking order behind Owen Farrell and George Ford and, with Jones likely to take only two fly-halves to the World Cup, looks set to miss out again having never featured in the sport's premier event.

He won the last of his 16 caps on the tour of South Africa in June 2018 and that was his first start for 10 years.

He was subsequently omitted from the squads for the November internationals and this year's Six Nations.

Jones has previously said he is unconcerned about Cipriani's "baggage" from a colourful past off the pitch that dates back to his original call-up by Brian Ashton when he was 20.

The bigger issue appears to be the way he plays the game, which generally means Cipriani running the show, and not always along the same lines as his coaches would like.

Cipriani's Gloucester half-back partner, New Zealand-born Heinz, was also included.

England provisional training squad:


Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins), Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints), Val Rapava Ruskin (Gloucester Rugby), Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors), Brad Shields (Wasps), Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors), Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons).


Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Cipriani (Gloucester Rugby), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Wasps), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Piers Francis (Northampton Saints), Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby), Dan Robson (Wasps), Ben Te'o (Worcester Warriors), Ollie Thorley (Gloucester Rugby), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).