Mike Haley and Jean Kleyn have been named in a 44-man Ireland training squad for the Rugby World Cup pre-season and preparatory camps which commence in mid-June.

Full-back Haley joined the province from Sale last summer and is eligible for Ireland through his Kerry-born grandmother.

South-African lock Kleyn qualifies through the three-year residency rule, which will see him become available to Ireland on the eve of this Autumn's tournament in Japan.

We need your consent to load this SoundCloud contentWe use SoundCloud to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Leinster back-rows Dan Leavy and Sean O'Brien both miss out through injury, while there is no place for Quinn Roux, Will Addison or Stuart McCloskey. However head coach Joe Schmidt has not ruled out further additions.

"Some players have missed out through injury and there are one or two guys that may be added into the squad at a later stage."

The squad will hold camps in Galway and Limerick as well as their usual base in Maynooth. 

Ireland will play at the Aviva Stadium in two fixtures, firstly against Italy on 10 August and then Wales on 7 September. Both of these home warm-up matches will be broadcast live on RTÉ television and radio.

Ireland will also face off against England in Twickenham on 24 August and Wales at the Principality Stadium on 31 August. 

"The provinces have done a great job throughout the season with all four of them being involved in two sets of play-offs," said Schmidt.

"There were some very close calls in selection and it’s always a challenging process because the coaching group are very conscious of how hard the players work.

"It’s ideal that they get a good opportunity to relax for a few weeks before getting stuck into pre-season training and the busy ‘Guinness Series’ in the lead up to the World Cup.

Ireland squad: 


  • Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 9 caps
  • Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 117 caps
  • Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 5 caps
  • Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 14 caps
  • Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 68 caps
  • Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 14 caps
  • Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 33 caps
  • Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 88 caps
  • Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 44 caps
  • Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 7 caps
  • Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 29 caps
  • Jean Kleyn (Munster) 0 caps
  • Jack McGrath (St Marys College/Leinster) 54 caps
  • Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster) 27 caps
  • Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12 caps
  • Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 57 caps
  • Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 14 caps
  • Rhys Ruddock (Lansdowne/Leinster) 21 caps
  • James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 17 caps
  • John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 18 caps
  • Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 14 caps
  • CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 31 caps
  • Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 64 caps
  • Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 17 caps


  • Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 17 caps
  • Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
  • Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 18 caps
  • Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3 caps
  • Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 12 caps
  • John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 8 caps
  • Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 77 caps
  • Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 5 caps
  • Mike Haley (Munster) 0 caps
  • Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 37 caps
  • Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) 17 caps
  • Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 90 caps
  • Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 13 caps
  • Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht) 25 caps
  • Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 10 caps
  • Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 72 caps
  • Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 20 caps
  • Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 3 caps
  • Jonathan Sexton (St Marys College/Leinster) 83 caps
  • Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 19 caps