The Ireland Women’s 7s squad has been confirmed for the fourth round of the World Rugby Women’s Sevens World Series in Kitakyushu, Japan this weekend.

The squad of 13 will be captained by Lucy Mulhall and includes Megan Burns who is named for her first World Series trip.

The Tullamore player turned 19 last week and having progressed through the Ireland 7s pathways, won her first cap in Kazan last summer.

Ireland finished in fourth place at the last World Series event in Sydney back in February and will be looking to keep momentum going at the Mikuni Stadium this weekend.

They are drawn in Pool C with England, Fiji and USA.

"We have a nice mix of players in the squad," said Ireland coach Stan McDowell. "The younger players are learning and developing more and more as the season continues, while the more experienced players in the squad are helping them along, while also improving their own game.

"There has been a bit of a gap between the last World Series event in Sydney and this weekend, so I know the players are looking forward to getting back out there and playing."

Ireland squad for Kitakyushu 7s

Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster), Megan Burns (Tullamore/Leinster), Aoife Doyle (Shannon/Railway Union/Munster), Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian/Munster), Katie Heffernan (Mullingar/Railway Union/Leinster), Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster), Brittany Hogan (Railway Union/Ulster), Emily Lane (Mallow/Munster), Anna McGann (UCD/Old Belvedere/Leinster), Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum), Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union/Munster), Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (Old Belvedere/Munster), Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster),

Pool C Fixtures, Saturday 20 April 

Ireland v Fiji – 2.30am (Irish time) / 10.30am (local)

Ireland v England – 5.14am (Irish time) / 1.14pm (local)

Ireland v USA – 8.20am (Irish time) / 4.20pm (local)