Ireland have named a 13-strong squad for the World Rugby Sevens Series Qualifier in Hong Kong this weekend. 

The winner of the tournament will gain a place on next season’s World Rugby Sevens Series.

Captain Billy Dardis, Ian Fitzpatrick, Hugo Keenan, Terry Kennedy, Harry McNulty, Bryan Mollen, John O’Donnell, Mark Roche and Foster Horan all travelled to the Hong Kong Stadium last year, when Ireland lost out in the semi-finals.

The first-time call-ups for the tournament are Jordan Conroy, Adam Leavy, Mick McGrath and Greg O’Shea.

Anthony Eddy's side have been drawn in Pool F in with Russia, Uruguay and Jamaica. 

He said: "There have been many learnings since last year’s Hong Kong experience, with some very positive moments for the team.

"The players have been exposed to a high level of competition and have tasted success during the year.

"Competing at the World Series events in London and Paris, winning Rugby Europe and doing well at the Rugby World Cup, while also claiming the Dubai Invitational title has helped the players grow in confidence, as well as developing their skills by playing against the top sides in the world.

"The Hong Kong Qualifier is a tough, winner takes all competition, and having experienced last year’s tournament, everyone involved is focused on the performance that is required for six games and claiming a position on next season’s World Series."


Friday 5 April

Ireland v Jamaica – 12.38pm (local time) / 5.38am (Irish time)
Ireland v Uruguay – 3.43pm (local time) / 8.43am (Irish time)

Saturday 6 April 

Ireland v Russia – 10.08pm (local time) / 3.08am (Irish time)

Sunday 7 April

Semi-finals and final