Kieran Marmion will make his 150th appearance for Connacht in their Pro14 trip to Glasgow Warriors on Friday night (7.35pm) after missing out on Ireland's squad for the Six Nations clash with Italy.

Marmion came off the bench for the province during their defeat of Cheetahs last week.

It was the scrum-half's first taste of action in three months - he was sidelined with an ankle injury that flared up after Ireland's famous win against the All Blacks - but he will get more minutes under his belt at Scotstoun and could come into the fold for the Aviva Stadium clash with France on Sunday week.

He forms a half-back partnership with 21-year-old Academy player Conor Fitzgerald who comes in for Jack Carty. Fitzgerald’s brother Stephen gets his second consecutive start on the wing and is part of a back three that includes Matt Healy on the opposite wing and Tiernan O’Halloran at full-back.

Kyle Godwin and Tom Daly form the midfield, with Bundee Aki and Tom Farrell away on international duty.

In the forwards, Dave Heffernan comes in at hooker in a front row that includes loosehead Denis Buckley and tighthead Finlay Bealham.

Sligo man Cillian Gallagher, 21, starts in the second row alongside James Cannon. In the back row, head coach Andy Friend has retained the same trio that started the win over Cheetahs, with captain Jarrad Butler starting at No 8 and Eoin McKeon and Colby Fainga’a at blindside and open side respectively.

"The real positive this week is to see Kieran Marmion back and raring to go after a period of injury," said Frend.

"He has worked really hard over the past few months to regain his fitness and he is looking forward to his 150th appearance in a Connacht jersey. It’s a significant milestone and something to be proud of for him and his family.

"We have picked a side with a good blend of youth and experience and I have full confidence in them to get a result on Friday night". 

Connacht (v Glasgow Warriors): Tiernan O’Halloran, Stephen Fitzgerald, Kyle Godwin, Tom Daly, Matt Healy, Conor Fitzgerald, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Dave Heffernan, Finlay Bealham, Cillian Gallagher, James Cannon, Eoin McKeon, Colby Fainga’a, Jarrad Butler (Capt).

Replacements: Shane Delahunt, Peter McCabe, Conor Carey, Joe Maksymiw, Paul Boyle, Caolin Blade, Peter Robb, Cian Kelleher.