Conor Murray and Chris Farrell will make their first starts of the season as Munster head coach Johann van Graan makes 11 changes to his team for Friday’s visit of Edinburgh in the Guinness Pro14.

Peter O’Mahony will captain the side at Irish Independent Park (kick-off 7.35pm) with Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan and Tadhg Beirne all starting on their return from international duty.

The inclusion of Murray and Farrell is a significant boot. Both players appeared as replacements last week against Zebre and the former Ulster man admitted that after eight and a half months out, he was itching to return.

"Those rehabs programmes are never simple. At times you think you're ready to resume and then something happens," he told RTÉ Sport this week.

"I'm delighted I got there in under nine months."

Farrell will partner Rory Scannell in midfield.

There are 11 changes to the side that secured a bonus-point win in Italy on Sunday as Munster look to make it five wins in a row.

Mike Haley keeps his place at full-back with wingers Conway and Earls completing the back three.

JJ Hanrahan gets the nod at out-half,  while it’s all change in the front five as Kilcoyne, Scannell and Ryan come into the front row.

Billy Holland and Beirne start in the engine room with Chris Cloete and Arno Botha keeping their places in the side and captain O’Mahony completing the back row.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Tadhg Beirne, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, Ciaran Parker, Fineen Wycherley, Gavin Coombes, Duncan Williams, Tyler Bleyendaal, Sammy Arnold.