Leinster have named a radically different side for their Champions Cup opener against Wasps than the one which got the better of Munster at the weekend. 

The reigning champions have once more showcased their formidable strength in depth by naming only six of the starters that kicked off the game against Munster in the Aviva Stadium for Friday's clash. 

Rob Kearney, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe are the only backs to remain in the starting side, while Devin Toner, James Ryan and Dan Leavy are the only forwards named to start both games. 

Jonathan Sexton returns to the out-half berth and will captain the side playing outside Luke McGrath at scrum half. 

Jordan Larmour replaces Fergus McFadden on the wing while Garry Ringrose joins Robbie Henshaw in the centre. 

It's an entirely different front row with Healy, Cronin and Furlong replacing McGrath, Tracy and Bent. Sean O'Brien, recently back from injury, returns to the sideline and is replaced by Jack Conan in the back row. 

Leo Cullen's side embark on this campaign, seeking to become the first club to win a fifth European Cup title in the history of the competition. 

Leinster: Rob Kearney; Jordan Larmour, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe; Johnny Sexton (C), Luke McGrath; Cian Healy, Seán Cronin, Tadhg Furlong; Devin Toner, James Ryan; Dan Leavy, Josh van der Flier,  Jack Conan.

Replacements: James Tracy, Jack McGrath, Andrew Porter, Scott Fardy, Seán O’Brien, Nick McCarthy, Ross Byrne, Joe Tomane.

Their opponents Wasps have made three changes, one of them enforced with Nizaam Carr starting in place of the suspended Nathan Hughes at No. 8.

The England international Hughes was cited for punching Lewis Ludlow while being pinned to the floor in the final minute of Wasps' 35-21 defeat to Gloucester at the weekend and his disciplinary hearing was aborted midway through to "deal with an issue which arose  during the evening."

Nathan Hughes on the attack for Wasps against Gloucester

The No. 8 tweeted "What a joke" during the hearing but deleted it shortly afterwards. 

Brad Shields, Lima Sopoaga are the other two changes with both returning to the starting line-up after injury. 

Wasps lie in third spot in the Gallagher Premiership having won four and lost two of their opening six matches. 

Wasps: Willie Le Roux; Josh Bassett, Juan de Jongh, Michael Le Bourgeois, Elliot Daly (C); Lima Sopoaga, Joe Simpson; Zurabi Zhvania, Tommy Taylor, Kieran Brookes; Will Rowlands, James Gaskell; Brad Shields, Thomas Young, Nizaam Carr.

Replacements: Tom Cruse, Ben Harris, Will Stuart, Kearnan Myall, Ashley Johnson, Craig Hampson, Billy Searle, Rob Miller

Follow Leinster v Wasps on Friday (kick-off 7.45pm) via the live blog on RTÉ.ie/Sport and the News Now app.