Tadhg Beirne and Jordan Larmour were both recognised for their outstanding performances last season in the Guinness Pro14, while Leinster made up a third of the 2017/18 Team of the Year.

At the launch of the forthcoming season, the exploits of last year were acknowledged in Glasgow, with Munster’s Beirne scooping the Players’ Player of the Season after a brilliant final campaign with Scarlets as the Welsh club reached the Pro14 final in Dublin.

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen was named as the outstanding coach of the season, with Larmour taking home the young player accolade.

With Leinster becoming the first team from the competition to complete a league and Champions Cup double, it was little surprise that they are the most represented side in the Team of the Year.

Jordan Larmour, Leo Cullen and Johnny Sexton at the awards night in Glasgow

Andrew Porter, Scott Fardy, Jack Conan, James Lowe and Larmour make the selection, along with former Leinster and current Ulster scrum-half John Cooney.

Barry Daly ensured more silverware as the top try scorer in the competition.

2017/18 Team of the Year

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby); Jordan Larmour (Leinster), Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets), James Lowe (Leinster); Rhys Patchell (Scarlets), John Cooney (Ulster); Rob Evans (Scarlets), Torsten van Jaarsveld (Toyota Chiefs), Andrew Porter (Leinster); Scott Fardy (Leinster), Tadhg Beirne (Scarlets); Aaron Shingler (Scarlets), Callum Gibbins (Glasgow Warriors), Jack Conan (Leinster).

There were two new awards presented on the night. Olly Robinson of the Cardiff Blues was the first winner of the Tackle Machine Award.

Players who made 200 successful tackles or more were eligible and the award was given to the player with the highest completion percentage. Robinson made a total of 243 tackles with a tackle completion rate of 94.6%

Giulio Bisegni of Zebre took the Pro14 Ironman award which recognised the player who accumulated the most minutes on the pitch across the 21 regular season rounds. The Italian international’s total of 1504 minutes earned him the award.

Players’ Player of the Season: Tadhg Beirne (Scarlets)

Coach of the Season: Leo Cullen (Leinster Rugby)

Young Player of the Season: Jordan Larmour (Leinster Rugby)

Pro14 Chairman’s Award: Ed Jackson (Dragons)

Golden Boot Award: Fred Zeilinga (Toyota Cheetahs)

Pro14 Dream Team Captain: Callum Gibbins (Glasgow Warriors)

Pro14 Top Try Scorer: Barry Daly (Leinster)

Pro14 Tackle Machine: Olly Robinson (Cardiff Blues)

Pro14 Ironman: Giulio Bisegni (Zebre)

FairPlay Award: Scarlets (they picked up just two yellow cards over the season)