Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has made five changes and three positional switches for Saturday's final Test against Australia.

Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Jack Conan, Bundee Aki and Jacob Stockdale all return to the starting team.

Andrew Conway, Garry Ringrose and Dan Leavy have been ruled out through injury.

Captain Peter O'Mahony switches to 7, CJ Stander moves to 6 and Robbie Henshaw will start at outside centre.

Leinster out-half Ross Byrne is in line to make his debut as he is included among the replacements.

Ireland will look to claim a first Test series win Down Under in 39 years when they square up to their hosts in Sydney.

Australia took the opening collision, ending Ireland's 12-game winning run with an 18-9 victory.

Schmidt's men hit back last weekend as they dug out a deserved 26-21 win to bring the series down to the wire. 

Now, they'll attempt to emulate the class of 1979, who won two Tests out of two when they travelled to Australia, and cap off a remarkable year with yet another memorable success.

Ireland: Rob Kearney, Keith Earls, Robbie Henshaw, Bundee Aki, Jacob Stockdale, Johnny Sexton, Conor Murray; Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, James Ryan, CJ Stander, Peter O Mahony (capt), Jack Conan.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Cian Healy, John Ryan, Tadhg Beirne, Jordi Murphy, Kieran Marmion, Ross Byrne, Jordan Larmour.

Meanwhile, Australia coach Michael Cheika has bolstered his lineout with the selection of Lukhan Tui at blindside flanker.
The inclusion of Tui, who has played three of his six Tests at lock, sees David Pocock shift from the number six jersey back to number eight, with Caleb Timu dropping out of the 23-man match day squad altogether.
Captain Michael Hooper remains as openside flanker.
Lock Adam Coleman has also been retained despite being forced off last week by a head clash with team mate Israel Folau which Cheika initially thought had resulted in a fractured cheekbone or eye socket.
Blindside flanker Ned Hanigan has been brought back into the replacements bench after recovering from a knee injury, with Pete Samu also providing cover in the loose forwards.
Nick Phipps has been promoted from the bench to replace the injured Will Genia, who broke his right arm in last week's loss in Melbourne.
ACT Brumbies scrumhalf Joe Powell has come onto the bench for Cheika's side, which has been relatively settled during the series as the coach looks to gel some combinations ahead of next year's World Cup in Japan.
Cheika had selected an unchanged side for the second test and made only two changes, one of which was enforced with Genia's injury, for the decider in Sydney.
Several underperforming players may be getting an opportunity to show the coach they should remain in his plans.
Rookie hooker Brandon Paenga-Amosa has had issues finding his jumpers in the lineout while centre Samu Kerevi has barely had any impact in either of the first two tests.

Follow Australia v Ireland on our live blog on RTÉ Sport Online and the RTÉ News Now app and listen to live commentary on 2fm from 10.45am (11am kick-off).