Jared Payne and Joey Carbery have been recalled to the Ireland training squad for the final two rounds of the Six Nations after recovering from injuries.

Centre Payne had been all-but ruled out of the tournament owing to a serious kidney injury suffered in November but fought back to action for Ulster last weekend.

Joe Schmidt must now weigh up whether Payne will be ready to return in Cardiff after a three-month lay-off, or to keep faith with Garry Ringrose at outside centre.

"The guys that have battled for us in the last few weeks certainly have to be rewarded," said Ireland scrum coach Greg Feek, earlier this week.

"Jared has obviously got a huge amount of respect from the coaching staff and players.

"I know the players have a lot of respect for him as well so it's our duty to see how he's going."

Leinster outhalf Carbery made his first three international appearances in November before injuring his ankle.

He has started the province's last two games.  

We need your consent to load this SoundCloud contentWe use SoundCloud to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

There were also recalls for Carbery's back-row clubmate Jack Conan and Munster prop Dave Kilcoyne.

Rob Kearney is included in the 36-man panel despite sustaining a groin injury in the victory over France last month but there is no place for Ulster's Tommy Bowe.

Ireland play Wales in Cardiff on Friday 10 March before hosting England in the final round in Dublin on March 18 (both games live on RTÉ2).

IRELAND squad (v Wales and England)

Forwards (19): Rory Best (captain), Jack Conan, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Ultan Dillane, Iain Henderson, Dave Kilcoyne, Dan Leavy, Jack McGrath, Sean O’Brien, Tommy O’Donnell, Peter O’Mahony, Quinn Roux, Donnacha Ryan, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, CJ Stander, Devin Toner, James Tracy.

Backs (17): Joey Carbery, Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Craig Gilroy, Robbie Henshaw, Paddy Jackson, Rob Kearney, Kieran Marmion, Luke Marshall, Luke McGrath, Conor Murray, Tiernan O’Halloran, Jared Payne, Garry Ringrose, Jonathan Sexton, Andrew Trimble, Simon Zebo.