Ireland legend Brian O’Driscoll was among 12 inductees into World Rugby’s Hall of Fame today.

“I think it’s something you never think about until the call comes in,” said the 37-year old who won 133 Ireland caps.

“I’m in esteemed company...part of an elite group of rugby players so it’s a massive honour for me.”

The former Leinster and Lions centre retired in 2013.

2016 Inductees: Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland), Shane Williams (Wales), Jeremy Guscott (England), Lawrence Dallaglio (England), Heather Moyse (Canada), John Dawes (Wales), GPS Macpherson (Scotland), Arthur Gould (Wales), Jonny Wilkinson (England), Daniel Carroll (Australia and USA), Daisuke Ohata (Japan) and Maggie Alphonsi (England).

We need your consent to load this SoundCloud contentWe use SoundCloud to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences