Ireland Women's coach Tom Tierney has said the warm-up clash with Wales is the perfect opportunity to to finetune his squad ahead of their Six Nations title defence. 

Ireland named a 26-woman squad to take on the Welsh on Sunday as they build towards the tournament they so memorably captured last year.

They wrapped up the competition last year with a 73-3 annihilation of Scotland in Glasgow to complete a famous Men's and Women's Six Nations double for Irish rugby, and kick off this time around against the same opposition in Donnybrook on Saturday, 6 February. 

Now, the Girls in Green will be looking to emulate last campaign's achievement as they hone their final preparations.

"We've had some good camps over the past few months, and with the England game in November and now this warm-up fixture against Wales, we're getting the opportunity to try out some different combinations and build our squad ahead of the Six Nations," said Tierney.

The uncapped game, which will also have rolling subs, takes place in the CCB Centre for Sporting Excellence in Caerphilly, south Wales [12.0pm], and will allow the head coach a chance to have a final look at players and combinations before he names his Six Nations squad.

"We've got a nice mix of youth and experience within the team so it will be good to get a final run-out before we start the tournament in Donnybrook.”

Ireland squad [v Wales] - Forwards: Elaine Anthony (Munster/Highfield), Ciara Cooney (Leinster/Railway Union), Ailis Egan (Leinster/Old Belvedere), Grainne Egan (Connacht/St Mary's), Paula Fitzpatrick (Stade Toulousain), Zoe Grattage (Munster/Tralee), Ciara Griffin (Munster/Tralee), Claire Molloy (Connacht/Bristol), Heather O'Brien (Stade Toulousain), Fiona O'Brien (Leinster/Old Belvedere), Ruth O'Reilly (Connacht/Galwegians), Lindsay Peat (Leinster/Railway Union), Fiona Reidy (Munster/UL Bohemians), Marie-Louise Reilly (Leinster/Old Belvedere), Sophie Spence (Leinster/Old Belvedere)

Backs: Niamh Briggs (Munster/UL Bohemians), Liz Burke (Munster/UL Bohemians), Nikki Caughey (Ulster/Railway Union), Mairead Coyne (Connacht/Galwegians), Aine Donnelly (Leinster/Cill Dara), Mary Healy (Connacht/Galwegians), Claire McLaughlin (Ulster/Queen's University), Larissa Muldoon (Exiles/Skewen), Sene Naoupu (Connacht / Galwegians), Elise O'Byrne-White (Leinster/Old Belvedere), Jackie Shiels (Exiles / Richmond)