Ulster's Robbie Diack is the one new cap named in Ireland's starting XV for the first summer Test against Argentina.

Two further uncapped players, Connacht duo Kieran Marmion and Rodney Ah You, are named on the bench, and could come on to make their debuts.

Ulster's Darren Cave gets a chance to stake his claim for the number 13 jersey following the retirement of Brian O'Driscoll.

Paul O'Connell captains the side from the second row in what will he his 100th Test appearance (93 with Ireland and seven with the British and Irish Lions). He is partnered at lock by Ulster's Iain Henderson.

Argentina, too, have named one debutant in their starting XV for the game.

Castres Olympique prop Ramiro Herrera is selected in a largely domestic-based team for the Test in Resistencia.

Herrera will make the step up to international rugby just a week after playing in Castres' Top 14 Championship final defeat to Toulon.

The 25-year-old is one of three overseas players in the team selected by head coach Daniel Hourcade.

Nicolás Sánchez, who plays for Bordeaux-Bègles in France, will start at out-half alongside captain Martin Landajo. Stormers second row Manuel Carizza is the most experienced player in the squad with 40 caps.

The Argentina team also include four players who have won their first caps during the past year.

Prop Lucas Noguera Paz and centre Jerónimo de la Fuente made their Test debuts last month against Uruguary; winger Santiago Cordero was a debutant last November against Wales and lock Tomas Lavanini's first game came against South Africa last August.

Argentina played two recent matches in the South American Championship, running in 10 tries - including four for winger Manuel Montero - during a 65-9 hammering of Uruguay on 17 May and then notched 11 tries as they coasted to a 73-12 win over Chile a week later.

Ireland team: 15 Felix Jones; 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Darren Cave, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Simon Zebo; 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray; 1 Jack McGrath, 2 Rory Best, 3 Mike Ross; 4 Iain Henderson, 5 Paul O’Connell; 6 Robbie Diack, 7 Chris Henry, 8 Jordi Murphy.

Replacements: 16 Damien Varley, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Rodney Ah You, 19 Devin Toner, 20 Jamie Heaslip, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Fergus McFadden.

Argentina: 15 Joaquin Tuculet; 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 12 Gabriel Ascarate, 11 Manuel Montero; 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo (Capt); 1 Lucas Noguera Paz, 2 Matías Cortese, 3 Ramiro Herrera; 4 Manuel Carizza, 5 Tomas Lavanini; 6 Rodrigo Baez, 7 Tomás de la Vega, 8 Benjamin Macome.

Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Bruno Postiglioni, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Javier Ortega Desio, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino.