Captain Peter O'Mahony and Paul O'Connell have been named in the Munster side to face Ulster in tonight’s RaboDirect PRO12 derby at Ravenhill, kick off 7.05pm.

Donncha O'Callaghan, James Coughlan and Ronan O'Mahony make up the just three starters that survive from last weekend's Connacht victory.

Damien Varley returns from his bout of illness to start in the front row with Dave Kilcoyne and Stephen Archer.

Tommy O'Donnell joins O'Connell and O'Mahony in returning to the pack while there is a change in half-backs this week with Cathal Sheridan and Ian Keatley starting. 

The backline sees Felix Jones at fullback with Andrew Conway, Ivan Dineen and Casey Laualala joining Ronan O'Mahony.

Keith Earls misses out this week with a bruised shoulder and there is no place for JJ Hanrahan in the squad due to a tight groin but both are expected to train next week.

James Cronin received the all clear from the scan of his lower back but will not be involved this weekend.

Munster XV v Ulster: Felix Jones; Andrew Conway, Casey Laulala, Ivan Dineen, Ronan O'Mahony; Ian Keatley, Cathal Sheridan; Dave Kilcoyne, Damien Varley, Stephen Archer; Donncha O'Callaghan, Paul O'Connell; Peter O'Mahony (captain), Tommy O'Donnell, James Coughlan.  Replacements:  Duncan Casey, John Ryan, BJ Botha, Dave Foley, CJ Stander, Duncan Williams, Johnny Holland, Johne Murphy.

Chris Henry and Iain Henderson have recovered from injury and have been named in the Ulster starting XV.

They are two of six changes to the team that lost to Leinster in the RDS for Ulster's second inter-provincial match in six days.

Ruan Pienaar starts at scrum-half, Jared Payne is selected at full-back, with Tom Court named at loosehead and John Afoa returning at tighthead.

RaboDirect PRO12 Players' Player of the Year, Nick Williams, has recovered from the calf injury that he picked up in November and is named as a substitute.

Johann Muller was unavailable for selection having sustained a leg injury in training this week.

Ulster XV v Munster: Jared Payne; Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Luke Marshall, Craig Gilroy; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Tom Court, Rob Herring, John Afoa; Iain Henderson, Dan Tuohy; Robbie Diack (captain), Chris Henry, Roger Wilson. Replacements: Niall Annett, Callum Black, Declan Fitzpatrick, Lewis Stevenson, Nick Williams, Sean Doyle, Paul Marshall, Mike Allen.

Live television coverage of Ulster v Munster from 19:00 on Friday 3 January on RTÉ Two and RTÉ.ie (Ireland only).