James Coughlan will lead the Ireland Wolfounds against the England Saxons as international rugby comes to The Sportsground on Friday night.

Ireland head coach Declan Kidney has named eight uncapped players in the starting XV, including the captain.

Ulster duo Paddy Jackson and Paul Marshall form the half-back partnership and are joined in the backline by local favourites Robbie Henshaw and David McSharry.

Up front, Mike Sherry packs down between the recently capped Dave Kilcoyne and Michael Bent.

Lewis Stevenson will pack down alongside Devin Toner while Kevin McLaughlin and the uncapped Tommy O’Donnell complete the backrow with Coughlan.

Ireland Wolfhounds team to play England Saxons at The Sportsground, Galway, Friday 25 January, kick-off 19:35pm (player/club/province/international caps):

15 Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)*
14 Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster/49)
13 Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster/3)
12 Dave McSharry (UCD/Connacht/)*
11 Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster/23)
10 Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)*
 9 Paul Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster/)*
 1 David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster/2)
 2 Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster)*
 3 Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster/2)
 4 Lewis Stevenson (Malone/Ulster)*
 5 Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster/3)
 6 Kevin McLaughlin (St.Mary’s College/Leinster/5)
 7 Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)*
 8 James Coughlan (Dolphin/Munster)* Captain

16 Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster/2)
17 Tom Court (Malone/Ulster/29)
18 Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon /Ulster/2)
19 Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster/2)
20 Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster/1)
21 Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster/15)
22 Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
23 Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster/2)

NB *denotes uncapped player