Lifiemi Mafi, Donncha O’Callaghan and Niall Ronan have been named in the Munster starting XV to face Leinster in the RaboDirect Pro12 clash at Aviva Stadium on Friday night (8pm).

The trio are the only changes in personnel coach Tony McGahan has made to the team that beat Aironi last week. The experienced Mafi comes in for Danny Barnes in the only backline switch.

The experienced Mafi will start alongside former Queensland Red Will Chambers in the centre, coming in for Danny Barnes in the only switch in the backline.

Conor Murray and Ronan O’Gara are at scrum-half and out-half respectively, with Doug Howlett and Keith Earls on the wings and Johne Murphy at full-back.

Damien Varley is named at hooker with South African duo Wian Du Preez and BJ Botha propping.

The second row sees the familiar Paul O’Connell and O'Callaghan partnership reunited. Donnacha Ryan, who played alongside O’Connell last week, is retained in the side but moves to the blindside flank.

The knock on effect of that sees Denis Leamy moves across from blindside to number eight, ousting James Coughlan. The highly rated Peter O’Mahony also drops out of the starting team with Niall Ronan coming at openside.

Barnes, O’Mahony and Coughlan are named on the bench along with experienced internationals Denis Fogarty, Marcus Horan and Tomás O’Leary, and former Connacht out-half Ian Keatley.

Commenting on the match, Munster coach Tony McGahan said: "I don't think there are many greater challenges in European rugby than playing the Heineken champions, the number one ranked side in a sell out at the national stadium, a venue they've had wonderful success at.

"So what a perfect way to get back into the RaboDirect but also for the upcoming Heineken Cup, it’s a perfect platform to certainly give us a great indication of where we are."

David Wallace, Jerry Flannery, Felix Jones and Peter Borlase are among those who were not considered due to injury.

Munster team to play Leinster in the Rabodirect PRO12 at the Aviva Stadium on Friday, 4 November (8pm):

J Murphy; D Howlett, W Chambers, L Mafi, K Earls; R O’Gara, C Murray; W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; D O’Callaghan, P O’Connell capt; D Ryan, N Ronan, D Leamy

Replacements: D Fogarty, M Horan, J Hayes, P O’Mahony, J Coughlan, T O’Leary, I Keatley, D Barnes