Ireland forward Paul O'Connell is among the nominations for International Rugby Board player of the year.

The Munster captain, who toured New Zealand with the Lions last year, is on a short-list of five, joining All Blacks pair Dan Carter and Richie McCaw, Australia full-back Chris Latham and South Africa's Fourie du Preez.

The winner will be announced at the IRB awards night in Glasgow on November 26.