Springbok flanker Schalk Burger has scooped the International Rugby Board's player of the year accolade, and his Tri-Nations-winning team-mates have claimed most of the other major honours.

Jake White, who took over after the World Cup, was named coach of the year - and his Springboks held off grand slam winners France to win the team award and sweep the board.

"Schalk's emergence as a major force has meant a lot to South African rugby but has also influenced world rugby," said White.

Burger last night topped a list which included Ireland centre Gordon D'Arcy, the Six Nations player of the year, and Australian star Matt Giteau who was central to the Wallabies' victory over England at Twickenham on Saturday.

IRB International Player of the Year: Schalk Burger (South Africa)

IRB International Team of the Year: South Africa

IRB International Coach of the Year: Jake White (South Africa)

IRB International U19 Player of the Year: Jeremy Thrush (New Zealand)

IRB International U21 Player of the Year: Jerome Kaino (New Zealand)

IRB International Sevens Team of the Year: New Zealand

IRB International Sevens Player of the Year: Simon Amor England)

Spirit of Rugby Award: Jarrod Cunningham

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service: Ronnie Dawson

IRB Referee Award for Distinguished Service: Jim Fleming

IRB International Women's Personality of the Year: Donna Kennedy

IRB Development Award: Guedel Ndiaye

IRB Chairman's Award: Marcel Martin