Sean O’Brien has been cited for his flashpoint with Pascal Pape during Ireland’s 24-9 victory over France on Sunday.
The Tullow Tank faces a hearing in London on Tuesday. O'Brien struck lock Pape in the stomach early in the match in Cardiff but escaped punishment from referee Nigel Owen at the time. If found guilty he will face a suspension of at least two weeks.
An official World Rugby statement said: “Sean O’Brien has been cited by independent Citing commissioner Dougie Hunter (Scotland) for an alleged foul play contrary to Law 10.4(a) during the Rugby World Cup Pool D match between France and Ireland at the Milennium Stadium, Cardiff, on Sunday 11 October. Law 10.4(a) deals with striking.
“The hearing will take place at 13.00 on Tuesday 13 October at the offices of RWC 2015 official law firm Clifford Chance in London.”
O'Brien was named man of the match in a famous Ireland victory and his potential loss would be another huge blow after flanker Peter O'Mahony was ruled out of the rest of the tournament through injury.
There are also fears Paul O'Connell's World Cup is over after he was stretchered off during the win over France.