The Irish LTA mixed coaxed four have qualified for the Paralympic Games following their second place finish in the semi-final of the 2011 World Rowing Championships in Bled, Slovenia.

The crew made up of Anne-Marie McDaid, Sarah Caffrey, Shane Ryan, Kevin Du Toit and Helen Arbuthnot (cox) booked their place in the final with a time of 3.32 and in doing so, became the first Irish rowing boat to secure Paralympic qualification.

Following the race, Team Manager Joe Cunningham said: "This crew has made history today. They are the first boat to have qualified for a Paralympics, delighted for them."