The Para Cycling team that will represent Ireland at the 2020 Paralympic Games has been announced.

Seven athletes have been selected, five of whom who will be making their Paralympic debut in Tokyo next month.

Rio gold and silver medalists Katie George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal will be returning with their sights set on repeating their tandem paracycling success from 2016.

Ronan Grimes, Richael Timothy, Gary O'Reilly and the tandem pair of Martin Gordon and Eamonn Byrne will all be making their first appearances at a Paralympic games.

In the case of Dunlevy and McCrystal, they are expected to compete in the 1000m Time Trial, 3000m Individual pursuit on the track, and in the Time Trial and Road Race. The pair won silver at the World Championships in June, narrowly missing out on gold in the Time Trial.

Galway-native Grimes will be competing in the 100m Time Trial and 4000m Individual Pursuit on the track and in the 4000m Individual Pursuit and Time Trial on the road.

Laois's O'Reilly claimed a fourth-placed finish at the Para Cycling Road World Championships last month, and will be Ireland's only hand cyclist at the Paralympics. He will participate in the Time Trial and the Road Race.

Timothy will compete in the 3000m Individual Pursuit and the 500m Time Trial on the track before switching to the road for the Time Trial and Road Race. She claimed bronze at the Para Cycling Track Championships in Canada earlier this season, and will arrive in Tokyo in good form.

Gordon and Byrne are sprint specialists, and they will be competing in the 4000m Individual Pursuit, 1000m Time Trial and the Road Time Trial.

Neasa Russell, chef de mission for the games and sports director for Paralympics Ireland, said: "Our seven athletes will all have a very strong chance of recording some memorable performances at the Games both on the Track and Road competitions. The team will depart tomorrow for their training camp and I just want to wish them the very best when we next see them in Tokyo."