By Tadhg Peavoy
Twitter: @TPeavoy

In a day of glorious success, Ireland has won three road cycling medals in the Paralympic Games at Brands Hatch.

Mark Rohan secured gold for Ireland in the individual H1 time trial, with a time of 35:41.54.

Israel’s Koby Lion took silver, and Wolfgang Schattauer of Austria claimed the bronze.

Earlier, James Brown and Damien Shaw (sighted pilot) won Paralympic bronze in the individual B time trial. As did Catherine Walsh and Fran Meehan (sighted pilot) in the women's event.

Today's three cycling medals swell Ireland's Paralympic medal haul to 13 so far; six of those 13 being gold.

The Irish duo of Brown and Shaw clocked 31:13.00 to secure the medal. The event was won by Spain's Christian Venge and David Llaurado Caldero in 30:48.25. Italy's Ivano Pizzi and Lucca Pizzi took silver.

Last Thursday, the pair narrowly missed out on a podium place in the bronze medal ride off in the para-cycling individual pursuit B competition at the Velodrome. They clocked a time of 4:26.075 to finish outside the medals in fourth place.

Walsh and Meehan finished in a time of 35:29.56 to claim their bronze. The gold in the women's event was won by the Netherlands' Kathrin Goeken and Kim van Dijk. New Zealand's Philippa Gray and Laura Thompson secured silver.

This is Walsh and Meehan's second medal of the Games, following their silver in the para-cycling individual B pursuit last Sunday.

Katie George Dunlevy and Sandra Fitzgerald finished fifth in the women's individual B time trial  in a time of 35:48.06.

Gold medallist Rohan commented afterwards: "I am delighted with my result, there was a lot of pressure on me to perform today."

Like all the athletes, Rohan credited his success to the strong team around him, with coach Brian Nugent, manager Denis Toomey, and mechanics Gerry Beggs and Terry Cromer being of crucial assistance.

Brown stated: "We are riding a new bike, we opted for power rather than aerodynamics, and it really seems to have paid off."

Meehan said: "We have a really strong team, and I think that’s what has moved us on, we support each other, share our advice, and it means we all improve."

Earlier on Wednesday morning Colin Lynch placed fifth in road cycling's C2 individual time trial.

World champion Lynch posted a time of 24:58.23. The gold medal was won by Tobias Graf of Germany in a time of 24:35.12. China's Liang Guihua won silver. Spain's Maurice Eckhard Tio took bronze.

Enda Smyth finished 14th in the C3 individual time trial. He completed the event in 27:30.64. Australia's David Nicholas won gold in 23:22.13, Joseph Berenyi took silver and Masaki Fujita bronze.

Smyth’s recent injuries started to take their toll on the unforgiving circuit, with relentless rises, descents and sharp turns.

Smyth commented: "I can’t blame the bike, after doing personal bests during the week on the track, but the relentless bumps and turns on the road really took their toll on me today."

And finally, Cathal Miller achieved 11th place in the C5 individual time trial. He clocked 35:14.82.

The gold medal was won by Yegor Dementyev of Ukraine in 32:12.98. Silver was won by Liu Xinyang. Bronze went to Australia’s Michael Gallagher.

Miller described the course as having a lot of cross winds, and said: "I negative splitted throughout the race, going faster as it went on. I did the best time trial of the year."

However, Miller got the better of John Allen Butterworth, the Great Britain rider who passed him in his pursuit race.

Miller said: "The best part is I passed Butterworth, my one-minute man."