The Olympic Federation of Ireland today named a squad of 65 athletes from nine sports to compete in the second edition of the European Games in Minsk, Belarus next month.

Competition runs from 21-30 June and will feature 15 sports, eight of which are part of the Road to Tokyo 2020 qualification process. Team Ireland will field teams in archery, athletics, badminton, boxing, canoe sprint, cycling, gymnastics, judo and shooting.

The Games will see over 4000 athletes from 50 countries compete across 200 events. Irish athletes will be competing in six of the eight sports that are part of the Olympic qualification process; archery, athletics, badminton, cycling road, judo and shooting. 

Team Ireland

Archery (1) 
Maeve Reidy (Recurve)

Athletics (15) 
Nelvin Appiah-Konadu (High Jump), Brandon Arrey (4 x 400m), Stephen Gaffney (100m), Conall Kirk (Pursuit), Andrew Mellon (4 x 400m), Gerard O’Donnell (110m H), Paul White (Pursuit). Grace Casey (Javelin), Ciara Deely (4 x 400m), Sinead Denny (4 x 400m), Victoria Harris (Pursuit Race), Sarah Lavin (100m Hurdles), Sophie Meredith (Long Jump), Amy O’Donoghue (Pursuit Race), Niamh Whelan (100m),

*Reserves (6): Paul Byrne, Luke Lennon-Ford, Kelly McGrory, Catherine McManus, Lily-Ann O’Hora, Moromoluwa Olusa

Badminton (6) 
Rachael Darragh (singles), Nhat Nguyen (singles), Chloe Magee (Mixed Doubles), Samuel Magee (Mixed Doubles), Joshua Magee (Men’s Doubles), Paul Reynolds (Men’s Doubles).

Chloe Magee

Boxing (13) 
Anthony Browne (Men’s Heavy -91kg), Regan Daly (Men’s Light Fly -49kg), Dean Gardiner (Men’s Super Heavy +91kg), Brendan Irvine (Men’s Fly -52kg), James McGivern (Men’s Light Welter -69kg), Kieran Molloy (Men’s Welter -69kg), Michael Nevin (Men’s Middle -75kg), Kurt Walker (Men’s Bantam -56kg), Joseph Ward (Men’s Light Heavy -81kg). Women (4), Kellie Harrington (Women’s Light -60kg), Aoife O’Rourke (Women’s Middle -75kg), Grainne Walsh (Women’s Welter -69kg), Michaela Walsh (Women’s Feather -57kg).

Canoe Sprint (2) 
Jenny Egan (Women’s K1 200, 500, 5000), Ronan Hughes (Men’s K1 200, 500, 5000)

Cycling (16) 
(Road) Mark Downey, Conor Dunne, Robert Jon McCarthy, Ryan Mullen, Michael O’Loughlin, Alice Sharpe
(Track) Mark Downey, Felix English, JB Murphy, Marc Potts, Fintan Ryan, Lydia Boylan, Mia Griffin, Lydia Gurley, Shannon McCurley, Robyn Stewart, Orla Walsh.

Emma Slevin (Women’s All-Around), Adam Steele (Men’s All-Around)

Nathon Burns (Half-light weight -66kg), Ben Fletcher (Half-heavy weight -100kg), Megan Fletcher (Women’s Middle weight -70kg)

Aoife Gormally (Women’s Shotgun Trap)