There are 12 nominees for the Sportsperson of the Year award and the winner will be announced on 17 December. 

The winner has been chosen by public vote, which is now closed.


Seamus Callanan – The Sunday Game Hurler of the Year capped an incredible year by scoring 13 points to ensure Tipperary’s All Ireland victory.

Eoghan Clifford – Claimed a road cycling Gold and a track cycling bronze at his first Paralympic Games

Katie George Dunlevy & Eve McCrystal - Won Paralympic tandem cycling gold and silver medals

Brian Fenton – Dublin’s midfield general continued his phenomenal record of being unbeaten in a Dublin jersey

Carl Frampton – Became just the second ever Irishman ever to have held World Titles in two different weight classes

Conor McGregor – The Notorious furthered his claim as Ireland’s most famous sportsman by stepping down a weight to claim his second UFC title

We need your consent to load this Vimeo contentWe use Vimeo to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Denise Gaule – Denise added the Camogie Player of the Year Award to her first O’Duffy Cup

Jamie Heaslip – The World Rugby Player of the Year nominee was a colossus in Ireland’s victories over South Africa, New Zealand and Australia

Daryl Horgan – Dundalk’s magic man was the outstanding player in a truly outstanding team

Annalise Murphy – Annalise came back from her London 2012 heartbreak to claim an Olympic Sailing Silver Medal in Rio

We need your consent to load this Vimeo contentWe use Vimeo to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Paul O’Donovan – Added a World Championship Gold to the Olympic Silver he picked up with his brother in Rio.

Bríd Stack – Bríd was named ladies footballer of the Year after picking up her 11th All Ireland medal.

The nominees for the RTÉ Sport Team of the Year have been announced, with competition for the gong intense after a year studded with terrific achievements and performances. 


Pat Lam's Connacht side defied all expectations when they captured the Pro12 title thanks to a memorable final defeat of Leinster at Murrayfield.

Cork became the All-Ireland Ladies football champions for the sixth time in a row after a dramatic final clash with Dublin. 

The Dubs did have their day in the sun though as the senior men captured back-to-back Sam Maguires.

Stephen Kenny's Dundalk enjoyed an incredible year. They won a third SSE Airtricity Premier Division on the trot and broke new ground for Irish clubs in Europe after a superb Europa League odyssey.

After returning from Rio with five medals, Ireland's Paralympic Cycling team earned many well deserved plaudits.

Paralympic Athletics meanwhile matched the Cycling team's medal haul with a terrific performance in Rio.

Joe Schmidt's Ireland rugby team beat the All Blacks for the first time in their history, and also notched a fist Test win on South African soil.

Kilkenny landed a first Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Camogie title since 1994 as they edged past Cork.

The history-making Northern Ireland soccer team escaped from their Euro 2016 group and won an army of new fans.

Olympic silver medalists the O'Donovan brothers Paul and Gary were the story of the Rio Games, winning a silver medal in the lightweight double sculls with ability and no little charm.

In qualifying into the knockout stages of Euro 2016, The Republic of Ireland soccer team created memories for a new generation of the Green Army.

While All-Ireland hurling champions Tipperary blew Kilkenny away to lift the Liam MacCarthy.

The shortlist for the RTÉ Sport Awards Manager of the Year is made up of coaches from eight different sports.


Long-term coach of Olympic silver medallists, the O’Donovan brothers, Dominic Casey, is in contention. 

As is Ann Downey, for bringing an end to Kilkenny’s 22 year All-Ireland drought,

Ephie Fitzgerald brought home Cork’s 6th consecutive All-Ireland title in his first year in charge.

For taking Dundalk to unprecedented heights, Stephen Kenny.

Dublin's Jim Gavin for becoming the first manager in 26 years to retain the Sam Maguire Cup.

For leading Connacht to their first ever major trophy, Pat Lam.

Aidan O’Brien created more history with an incredible 1,2, 3 in Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe.

Seven Cheltenham winners, plus another 34 Grade 1 wins worldwide, it’s all in a year’s work for Willie Mullins.

Martin O’Neill guided the Republic to the Euro 2016 Round of 16 and to the top of their World Cup qualification group.

Michael O’Neill took Northern Ireland into the knock stages in the first ever appearance at a European Championships.

And the man who brought the Liam MacCarthy back to the Premier County in his first year in charge, Michael Ryan.

The Manager of the Year award is voted on by RTÉ Sport editorial staff.

Voting has now closed and the winner will be announced live on the night of the awards. The RTÉ Sport Awards 2016 are live on RTÉ One on Saturday 17 December at 9pm.