Rallying's Callum Devine has been voted as the Irish International Driver of the Year for 2019 at the Motorsport Ireland annual awards in Dublin.

Devine, who finished fifth in the junior World Rally Championship (WRC) in 2018, followed more of a domestic rallying programme this season finishing third in the Irish Tarmac Rally Championship (ITRC) behind the winner Craig Breen in his first campaign in an R5 Car.

The Derry driver finished the season by claiming third place in his Hyundai R5 in Rally Hungary, the final round of the European series (ERC)

The 25-year-old Motorsport Ireland Rally Academy took third place in Hungary, despite losing almost three minutes with two punctures and a spin over the two days.

He posted top-three times on five of the stages during the event, including the fastest time by over a minute on the final stage to jump from fifth place onto the podium on his ERC debut.

Josh McErlean won the Billy Coleman award as the Young Rally Driver of the year and received a prize of €100,000 to help his 2020 campaign

McErlean won the Junior British Rally Championship with a round to spare in 2019 and competed on this years Wales Rally GB, a round of the WRC.

James Roe was finally crowned as the Young Racing driver of the Year, having been nominated for the past four years.

The Naas driver competed in the USA in 2019 in their F3 series where he picked up a win in Road America on his way to fifth in the Championship, with his results also helping his Global Racing Group outfit take the Team’s Championship.

His maiden American F3 win means Roe has now won a race in every series he has competed and he has a stated aim to mirror his uncle Michael Roe who raced in the US Indycar series, their equivalent of Formula One.