Ott Tanak clinched his second World Rally Championship win of the season with a comfortable triumph in the inaugural event in Chile.

Estonian Tanak, along with co-driver Martin Jarveoja, finished 23.1 seconds clear of Sebastien Ogier, who was on the podium for the sixth successive event, allowing the Frenchman to take over as championship leader.

With previous incumbent Thierry Neuville retiring on the eighth of the 16 stages, Ogier's second place in his Citroen C3 means he is 10 points clear of Tanak, with Belgian Neuville a further two points adrift.

Tanak, in a Toyota Yaris, produced a commanding performance as he led for all but one of the stages.

Ogier held off a late charge from nine-time champion Sebastien Loeb, who finished just 7.1 seconds behind his fellow Frenchman for his first podium this season in his Hyundai i20.

Elfyn Evans was over a minute adrift of Loeb in fourth in his Ford Fiesta and is fifth in the standings, four points behind fourth-placed Northern Ireland's Kris Meeke.

Meeke could only manage eighth in his Yaris, seven and a half minutes down on Tanak, after rolling his car on day two.