There will be no home grand prix for reigning champion Nico Rosberg in 2017 after Germany was dropped from the Formula One calendar by the FIA.

The races in Canada and Brazil were also under threat but F1 will return to Montreal and Interlagos next year as part of a 20-race schedule.

The British Grand Prix will take place on 16 July, the same day as the men's Wimbledon final.

After three races were listed as being subject to confirmation, the only event to be dropped from the provisional 21-race calendar was the German Grand Prix.

Hockenheim had been pencilled in to stage the race despite it being Nurburgring's turn to host the event in their biennial agreement.

But organisers were unable to complete a deal for the race to be held at Hockenheim, according to the BBC.

It is the second time in three years the German Grand Prix has been withdrawn from the calendar, after an agreement could not be reached for 2015.

Melbourne's Albert Park will host the 2017 season opener on 26 March with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix bringing the curtain down on the campaign on 26 November.

Schedule in full:
March 26: Australia (Melbourne)
April 9: China (Shanghai)
April 16: Bahrain (Sakhir)
April 30: Russia (Sochi)
May 14: Spain (Barcelona)
May 28: Monaco (Monte Carlo)
June 11: Canada (Montreal)
June 25: Azerbaijan (Baku)
July 9: Austria (Spielberg)
July 16: Britain (Silverstone)
July 30: Hungary (Budapest)
August 27: Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
September 3: Italy (Monza)
September 17: Singapore (Marina Bay)
October 1: Malaysia (Sepang)
October 8: Japan (Suzuka)
October 22: USA (Austin)
October 29: Mexico (Mexico City)
November 12: Brazil (Sao Paulo)