Suzuki's Maverick Vinales claimed his maiden MotoGP win in the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

The 21-year-old Spaniard, who only made his MotoGP debut last year, pulled away from the rest of the field to claim victory by three seconds and give Suzuki an historic win - the team's first triumph since 2007.

Ireland's Eugene Laverty started sixth on the grid - his best ever MotoGP position - but finished 12th. He's 11th in the overall standings.

Pole sitter Cal Crutchlow of LCR Honda continued his impressive form by finishing second ahead of the Yahama of Valentino Rossi, while Championship leader Marc Marquez was fourth. Reigning world champion Jorge Lorenzo finished down in eighth place.

After rain had threatened to disrupt proceedings earlier on, the race began with a dramatic first lap as Loris Baz (Avintia Racing) and Pol Espargaro (Monster Yamaha tech 3) were involved in an incident, prompting the red flag with the two riders needing medical attention.

Following the restart, Crutchlow battled past Rossi and Vinales to lead but the latter responded to regain first place before easing away. That left a five-horse race for runners-up spot between Marquez, Rossi, Crutchlow, Andrea Iannone and Dani Pedrosa.

With Iannone suffering a DNF after losing his Ducati with six laps to go when second, Crutchlow was able to edge ahead of Rossi and Marquez to finish behind the victorious Vinales.

Marquez still holds a massive 50-point lead in the championship standings while Rossi and Lorenzo occupy second and third position respectively.

Motorcycling GP overall standings: 1 Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 210 Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 160 3 Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 146 4 Maverick Vinales (Spain) Suzuki 125 5 Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 120 6 Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 96 7 Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati  89 Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Honda 86 9 Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 81 10 Hector Barbera (Spain) Ducati 78 11 Eugene Laverty (Ireland) Ducati 67 12 Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Suzuki 60 13 Scott Redding (Britain) Ducati 54 14 Danilo Petrucci (Italy) Ducati 45 15 Jack Miller (Australia) Honda 42